Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I think non-dairy creamer is creepy so I make this variant of chai mix. I give my version 5 stars! 1 packet dry milk powder (about 1 1/4 cup) 2 1/2 cups white sugar 1 2/3 cups unsweetened decaf instant tea (Nestea) 2 t ginger 2 t cinnamon 1 t cloves 3/4 t cardamom (can skip if too expensive- still tastes good without cardamom) 1 t nutmeg 1 t allspice 1/4 t white pepper Blend in a food processor. To serve stir 2-3 heaping tablespoons into warmed MILK. (Not water!) Get the milk steaming but do not boil. (About 2 min in the microwave for a big 16 oz mug). Without the vanilla it's less sweet - the closest commercial products to the resulting flavor are Oregon Chai's Not-So-Sweet chai mix, or Trader Joe's chai mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I love this recipes! I did cut the sugar as well and i did not use instant tea and instead i put a tea bag of black tea (orange pekoe) in the cup - since chai tea does have black tea in it - and pour that tea into a cup over the chai mix - I LOVE IT and the pekoe is very inexpensive as well - great great GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Can't say enough about this recipe EXCELLENT added 1 t nutmeg and 1/2 t white pepper and used C&H light all natural sugar & stevia turned out amazing will be making for Xmas present for my neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I didnt have ginger, so left it out. Still turned out great. This recipe is so economical. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Oh. My. Goodness. This is FABULOUS. I seriously can't believe how good it is compared to all the (tons) of chai I've bought. I used regular French vanilla and plain creamers because I wasn't sure how the amounts if sugar free would translate, but I used 1 1/2 C. of Splenda (only) and it came out perfectly. I also cut down on the cardamom (1/2 tsp.) because sometimes it seems pretty "bitey" to me, used 1/2 tsp. cloves (same reason), and added nutmeg. Great recipe, Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I have made this several times and given plenty of it away as holiday gifts. Nothing like it on a cold winters night. Suggest grinding 1/2c at a time in coffee grinder; faster than the food processor. Other reviews suggest too sweet, I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. I also add 1t nutmeg, 1t allspice and 1/4t white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I use Splenda white and some Splenda brown sugar. Makes it wonderful. It was already a great recipe. I use black pepper and all the other spices listed. Try some yourself. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Futrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I just whipped up a batch of this using all of the spices referenced and it turned out great! I love chai tea but not the expense that comes with it at Panera or Starbucks or the calories. I made this with Splenda, as suggested by another reviewer, and Decaf instant tea. Low calorie and delicious! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very good Chai Tea, I substituted Splenda for the sugar as I am a diabetic, still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Duffield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
this is agreat recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States