Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Amazing!! I cut the sugar as suggested by others. This is easy and so yummy. It is good. I mean, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
My friend had mentioned that she stopped drinking coffee, and she bought a mix of chocolate chai drink. She said it wasn't very good. That's when I decited to make this recipe! It was so expensive to purchase the ingredients, but worth it!! I also used all non dairy creamer because my friend is dairy free. Also coffee mate makes sweetened origional creamer, so I used only 1 cup of that , and 2 cups of original coffee creamer. No sugar also becsuse my friend also is eliminating sugar from her diet. This makes it very enjoyable, and all the spices come through perfectly! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I have been looking for quite some time for an affordable alternative to the pricey coffee house chai drinks I love so much, so I had really high hopes when I came across this recipe with all the glowing reviews. One taste was all I needed of this blend, unfortunately. I think the spices used are good, but the measurements were definitely off. I couldn't tell if it was the cloves or the cardamom, but either way it was just too overpowering and left a horrible taste in my mouth. Also, the 2 1/2 cups of sugar was way too much. I felt like I wasted a lot of ingredients making this recipe and do regret trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
A very good Chai mix! I've tried several different recipes and this one really hits the mark! For those who didn't add the cardamom because it's too expensive, that's a huge mistake, cardamom is an essential ingredient in Chai tea! So spend the extra bucks and you'll be greatly rewarded with an authentic tasting Chai tea mix. Try looking in the bulk spice section of farmers markets like Sprouts or Henry's to save quite a bit over grocery store prices. It's worth the extra effort! You can also find real vanilla powder (used the same as real liquid vanilla) in the same place if you want to substitute for the vanilla creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This mix is even better when made with milk! I add the nutmeg, allspice and white pepper. I use Splenda instead of sugar to save on calories. I dump it all into my food processor at once and blend until it's the right consistency. Lovely winter pick-me-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is really good. I found that if I give the serving I'm going to use a whirl in my coffee grinder right before I use it, I don't get the grittiness some people have stated. Also, for an added kick I do add this to my coffee. Delicious! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I could not find unsweetened instant tea, so I made it without the tea and added the mixture to a steaming cup of hot black tea. The only other change I made was to use Truvia cooking blend, 1/2 cup, in place of the sugar. Best and most inexpensive chai tea I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The only problem that I have with this mix is the grit I get at the bottom of my cup. I guess I need to find a way to process it finer. I also use more mix per cup as I long it strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I liked the idea of this recipe, but it required quite a bit of tweaking to get it to my taste. There was too much sugar, and not enough spice. I didn't add the pepper, but I did add the nutmeg and allspice. Also, half again as much of the other spices as called for, 1/2 cup less of sugar, and 1/2 cup more of creamer. I mix it with fat free milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was trying to replicate the taste of Trader Joe's chai tea mix, as I love it and can't afford it. I couldn't get the french vanilla creamer, but stirred a little vanilla extract into my drink. My roommate and I are hooked now! It's really nice to come home after classes and have a cup of chai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States