Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I haven't made this recipe yet but the only thing that I may do is substitute the sugar for Equal. I will only add the Equal when I'm ready to drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this mix to give as Christmas presents as I had tried it before without adding the extra spices. This time I bought green cardamom pods and got the seeds out myself and added a tsp. allspice and pepper corns that I ground as well. Put everything into the coffee/spice grinder and it only took 5 min. to grind the whole batch down perfectly. I then frothed my own milk by shaking a half full jar of 2% for 30 sec. and then putting it in the microwave for another 30 sec. It was just as good if not better than Starbucks which I love. I might have a hard time giving it away now that I have tried it. Oh well, I can always make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
We made this recipe and had to add more of the spices and tea to get it right to our liking. I am still not satisfied with what we did. We did a unsweetened tea in a jar. Also we had some while we were making it and I thought it was better the next day. We did not use a food processer on it either and I may just do that before I have my next cup of what we made. We did not use sugar but added a diet sweetener and they may have been the problem, I am not sure. I got hooked on this kind of tea we bought at a craft show and I just could not get over how good it is. I have never had this before. I only have a little left in that bag and can not find where to buy more of the already premix. I am going to try other mixes, like Tazo Chai tea, because I am really hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
...my new favorite morning drink!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I was a skeptic, but this is very tasty! I can see giving these as gifts and drinking one daily throughout the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Good base recipe for an instant Chai latte to send to my dirt poor sister at college! I'm not a big fan of those non-dairy coffee creamers, so I left them out. Instead, I did use the suggested vanilla-sugar mixture and just some extra powdered milk for creaminess; served with warm milk instead of water. 1 cup of sugar is plenty. I used black pepper instead of white because that's what I had on hand. Adjusted spices to my taste: less cloves, more ginger, cardamom, and pepper. It's still on the mild side. Maybe next time I'll add ground star anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I only made half a batch (because I never had chai tea before) But always wanted to. OMG!! This stuff is sooo good now I have to make a full batch(or 2). I drink it everyday the only thing is I didn't use the cardamom, wow the price"really". Anyway thanks so much for this recipe Jo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I really like this mix and it was easy to put together. I reduced the sugar to 2c and it is still a little sweet for my taste, but probably the perfect amount for giving as a gift since many people seem to like sweet tea. I ran out of ground cloves and didn't have ground cardamon, so I used my coffee grinder to grind whole cloves and cardamon seeds instead. It made the mix smell fantastic, but did leave a little more sediment in the cup than pre-ground spices would. I am going to try spicing it up even further with allspice and white pepper (maybe nutmeg... not a traditional chai spice, but then again neither is allspice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Amazing!! I cut the sugar as suggested by others. This is easy and so yummy. It is good. I mean, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
My friend had mentioned that she stopped drinking coffee, and she bought a mix of chocolate chai drink. She said it wasn't very good. That's when I decited to make this recipe! It was so expensive to purchase the ingredients, but worth it!! I also used all non dairy creamer because my friend is dairy free. Also coffee mate makes sweetened origional creamer, so I used only 1 cup of that , and 2 cups of original coffee creamer. No sugar also becsuse my friend also is eliminating sugar from her diet. This makes it very enjoyable, and all the spices come through perfectly! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States