Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Almost everyone I know loves chai but hates the cost of buying it at a retail establishment. Plus, I wanted to be able to make a quick cup at home in the microwave and also give a mix for New Year gifts. I used all the suggested ingredients. I followed this recipe exactly, with the exception of reducing the sugar by one cup. The creamers already had sweetener added, and I don't like overly sweet beverages. Next time I will make this with Truvia, but since this batch is for gifts I used sugar. Also, I could not find instant tea mix that did not state it was for iced tea, and I assumed instant iced tea mix would work (without lemon or sugar added by the manufacturer). I realized as I mixed the ingredients that my blender would not hold all the ingredients, so I first poured the full amount into a large pitcher and shook it to try to distribute the ingredients evenly. Then I put half into the blender and blended on mix, followed by whip. I repeated this step with the other half, then poured both halves back into the big pitcher and shook it some more. I wanted to be sure the ingredients were mixed throughout. The results are a very fine powder that mixes well with hot water and tastes divine. I figure each cup costs about 30 cents to make, maybe less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Very good, best when made with milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This Chai Tea mix has become a staple in our household! Quick, convenient, and having the perfect blend of spices......it has become our favorite. I'm sure this recipe will become yours as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love chai tea and this recipe didn't disappoint. It has wonderful creamy milk and vanilla flavor added to the spices which makes this tea very soothing. When purchasing the powdered nondairy creamer I noticed that the label said it was sweetened already. This means the recipe didn't require as much sugar. When making a second batch I didn't even bother with the sugar and it still turned out great. Next time I will leave out the dry milk and try almond milk for my guests who are dairy allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I really like this recipe. I doubled the batch, so i'm very relieved. I may add a little extra tea for my personal drinks, but i think everyone will love this tea. Also, i'm happy to have a use for my jar of cardamom. It's very expensive and it normally goes to waste because i can't find a small jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This mix is very sweet, too sweet, and not very tea flavored. I do not think I would make this again if I had a craving for real chia tea. It is more just a drink mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I thought this chai tea was excellent. I have always been a big fan of chai tea and now I can have it at home at anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Love this mix! I gave it as Christmas gifts last year and am doing so again this year. Everyone told me how much they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
As is, this is a good recipe, and good for gift giving. I don't even like instant tea, but I love this. The spices are expensive, so it's a good idea to make a small batch first so you can tweak a larger recipe to your tastes. I do not care for vanilla, so I left it out and used regular creamer. I did not at all find this too sweet and even added more sugar to my final mix as well as triple the spices, including a small amount of nutmeg and black pepper (I love the kick of the pepper, and it is found in many traditional Indian chai recipes). Chai very much lends itself to personal preference, so start out with your basic preferences and experiment from there. For chai latte, mix with hot milk instead of water - the fat in the milk helps bring out the flavor of the spices and will taste more like the coffee shop type. I usually fix mine with water but it is good with 2% or whole milk for a latte. My only complaint is that I did not make enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Oh my, this is REALLY WONDERFUL!!! I made this recipe as written and took the authors suggestion on spicing it up and it is beyond WONDERFUL! I love Chia tea and you can't find it everywhere especially at work. It is such a nice change from the normal coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Made a double batch that I will give to co-workers for a little Christmas treat. Thanks so much for the recipe, you can bet this is going in my fav recipe box to be used often. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States