Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
very delicious. messy to make, especially the instant tea... it explodes every where so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroche1204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good recipe! Don't skimp out and omit the Cardamom! It's the basis for this flavorful beverage. If you don't have it, buy it- or make a different kind of tea! I made this recipe as written with the exception of adding a little more of each spice and a few dashes of Allspice. Yumm, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I am a recent convert to Chai tea and happy to have found this recipe. I added the additional recommended spices in other reviews and cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. Grind the spices in a coffee grinder, then grind the rest of the ingredients to a fine powder. Even my husband, who is not a tea drinker or chai fan likes this mix. Plan to give as gifts this Christmas and made a sugar free version for my brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I’ll give this recipe five stars because it’s a great starting point, but I did make some changes. I did use the nutmeg, allspice, and nutmeg as recommended in the description. I also only used 1½ cups sugar based on others’ reviews. The biggest change I made was to double the amount of all the spices. When I tried it using the amounts listed in the recipe I thought the chai flavor was pretty weak and was definitely overpowered by the sweetness of the sugar. I tossed it all back in the food processor and added a whole second round of spices, and after that it came out perfect. If you like a nice bold chai taste, I definitely recommend doubling all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
So good as a latte, iced or hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Good, better mixed with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is great we made for gifts for my daughters teachers and friends last Christmas. This year she is in college and wants to take some back with her after the break for all of her friends. Great treat to send to college students who don't have much money for treats like this. Try the gunline coffee too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Sooo yummy and easy to make! I altered this recipe. I only used 2 cups of sugar and I used a tea bag instead of the instant tea. I also did not use the cardamom because I couldn't find it in our tiny grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made a sugarless version of this so I could add my own sweetener. I didn't have cardamom, but I did have a jar of garam masala, so I dumped in a couple tablespoons of it as well, figuring I'd get the cardamom that way. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States