Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is awesome. I don't put the creamers in, but follow the rest of the recipe as written. When I serve the tea, I mix Heavy Whipping Cream in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Too sweet, terrible afte-rtaste. I made this with coffeemate, and whole milk powder, as well as steeped assam black tea (There are no instant tea powders in Canada, and i wouldn't trust the processing its been through either). Also, sugar is something you can always add afterwards, though really it should be sweetened with honey as that's healthier. If I were to make it again, i would try finding the unprocessed versions of all these elements and use my coffee grinder. The ginger you could grind after you've dried slices of it in the toaster oven. Understandably some people don't have the time but sometimes it is just more worth it to not take shortcuts- especially for a chai mix that can be quickly reconstituted at any later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made the above recipe but didn't use instant tea (used a regular Darjeeling tea bag and steeped), and I added dried 1 tsp orange peel, 1tsp white pepper, and 1tsp allspice and cut down the sugar to 1 1/2 cups before blending in a food processor. I agree that a coffee grinder is a better idea. Only thing I will do differently is cut down the creamer; I like a more full bodied tea (almost like coffee!) and this was too blond for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Was great!! But, I added more nutmeg and ginger for more spiciness!!! Super yummy and thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. My first cup seemed a little rich, but it's growing on me. It's a very inexpensive substitute for the commercial brand I drink and I'm looking forward to tweaking my next batch to my own tastes. And I'll definitely try the spicier variation in the heading at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This recipe is great, thank you for sharing it! Instead of ground ginger, I always use fresh ginger. Martha El Hadidi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes of all times. I put it in a jar during the holidays and give it as my favorite present! I usually add more ginger powder and a pinch of fine white pepper for a little tingle on the tip of my tongue. I also bought a small frother and add nonfat milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Made 2 batches - 1st BATCH: doubled spices, added all creamer/milk, but no sweetener. YUM! 2nd BATCH: doubled spices, NO creamer/milk, NO sweetener. I have both on hand & if I want to cut down on calories I use the No creamer batch & for full taste use the batch w/creamer. Also, I'm dieting now, so using diet sugar, or add honey or sugar. 2nd batch I can just add a little of creamer (any type) to my beverage. I was spending over +$5 per box 20 Chi tea bags. Now I save money & get the full taste. Purchased green cardamom pods & grind. I think it was 10 pods = 1 ground tsp, save a ton of money. Ground cardamon at store +$10 & only made two batches. Pods $7 incl the s/h, and it will last a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
A friend who sells Tastefully Simple (love those Oh My! Chai packets!) sent this recipe link to me...and I am addicted! What I like the most is, no matter how I've "customized" this recipe, it always turns out great! I started with the recipe as listed and, thanks to all of the reviewers who commented about the amount of sugar being too high, I cut that down to 1 1/2 cups. I also used decaf instant tea, since that's what we prefer. The first batch was great, but we wanted it a touch sweeter. So, for the next batch, I upped the sugar to 1 3/4 cups and it turned out perfect! Initially, we mixed it with water (as suggested). While it was good, we wanted a creamier "latte" factor from our chai. So we used soy milk instead, and it turned out SO yummy! Finally, we've recently eliminated dairy due to some family food sensitivities. So... I had to try to modify it yet again. This time, I completely left out the powdered milk...with much concern that we'd lose the "latte" factor once again. Today, I used cold almond milk, a couple of scoops of powder and about 4 ice cubes and put it all in a blender. It was FABULOUS! I am so happy to still have a recipe that meets our dietary choices and tastes like the real deal. When I shared some with my hubby, he said he couldn't tell the difference between what I had made and the expensive brews at any coffee/tea shop. This recipe rocks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kruse Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Easy to customize to your own preference. Perfect guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States