Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. My first cup seemed a little rich, but it's growing on me. It's a very inexpensive substitute for the commercial brand I drink and I'm looking forward to tweaking my next batch to my own tastes. And I'll definitely try the spicier variation in the heading at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This recipe is great, thank you for sharing it! Instead of ground ginger, I always use fresh ginger. Martha El Hadidi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes of all times. I put it in a jar during the holidays and give it as my favorite present! I usually add more ginger powder and a pinch of fine white pepper for a little tingle on the tip of my tongue. I also bought a small frother and add nonfat milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Made 2 batches - 1st BATCH: doubled spices, added all creamer/milk, but no sweetener. YUM! 2nd BATCH: doubled spices, NO creamer/milk, NO sweetener. I have both on hand & if I want to cut down on calories I use the No creamer batch & for full taste use the batch w/creamer. Also, I'm dieting now, so using diet sugar, or add honey or sugar. 2nd batch I can just add a little of creamer (any type) to my beverage. I was spending over +$5 per box 20 Chi tea bags. Now I save money & get the full taste. Purchased green cardamom pods & grind. I think it was 10 pods = 1 ground tsp, save a ton of money. Ground cardamon at store +$10 & only made two batches. Pods $7 incl the s/h, and it will last a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
A friend who sells Tastefully Simple (love those Oh My! Chai packets!) sent this recipe link to me...and I am addicted! What I like the most is, no matter how I've "customized" this recipe, it always turns out great! I started with the recipe as listed and, thanks to all of the reviewers who commented about the amount of sugar being too high, I cut that down to 1 1/2 cups. I also used decaf instant tea, since that's what we prefer. The first batch was great, but we wanted it a touch sweeter. So, for the next batch, I upped the sugar to 1 3/4 cups and it turned out perfect! Initially, we mixed it with water (as suggested). While it was good, we wanted a creamier "latte" factor from our chai. So we used soy milk instead, and it turned out SO yummy! Finally, we've recently eliminated dairy due to some family food sensitivities. So... I had to try to modify it yet again. This time, I completely left out the powdered milk...with much concern that we'd lose the "latte" factor once again. Today, I used cold almond milk, a couple of scoops of powder and about 4 ice cubes and put it all in a blender. It was FABULOUS! I am so happy to still have a recipe that meets our dietary choices and tastes like the real deal. When I shared some with my hubby, he said he couldn't tell the difference between what I had made and the expensive brews at any coffee/tea shop. This recipe rocks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Easy to customize to your own preference. Perfect guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I love this recipe. I am hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weaveroflight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Love it! I did not add the extra spices. And I put 3 heaping spoons in my cup instead of 2. Yumm! This makes a ridiculous amount of mix... you could easily cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Increased the spices to suit my tastes. My roommate and I are addicted!! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
GREAT AS CHRISTMAS GIFTS. I made Chambord Chocolate truffles wrapped in gold foil and put this tea mix in a little bag for Christmas. REALLY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States