Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Clearly the reviews on this recipe speak for itself. I make it as directed, adding the allspice but not the nutmeg or pepper. I also use 1.5 cups white sugar and 1 cup Splenda. I have made this several times, and once made the dreadful mistake of accidentally using vanilla caramel creamer instead of the french vanilla - yuck! So take my advice and make sure you grab the right bottle :) Hopefully the people I'm giving it to for Christmas will love it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I'm drinking my first mug now and LOVE it. The only thing I changed was to use only 2 cups sugar. I know the cardomon is expensive. It cost me about $11 for the pods but I only used about 1/4 of them. I will be using this for gifts this holiday. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
We sub 2T pumpkin pie spice for the spices. It was more economical than purchasing the ground ginger, cloves, and cardamom separately. We also tried making it with hot milk instead of water and it is very rich and wonderful. This has been part of our Christmas tradition for the past several years, and we make a 4x batch to give as gifts. When the weather turns cold, the kids always ask "when are we going to make that chai mix?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Great recipe and easy to personalize. Any combo of a few of the spices seems to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Excellent flavor, super easy to make. Went together and in jars in less than 20 minutes. I mixed it in my food processor and it worked fine on the mix setting, but one cup is about all I'd put in at a time. It makes a ton of dust, even with the lid on the chute. My mix yielded about 3 pint jars. One change I did make was 1/2 cup less sugar...I figured I'd try that suggestion and I'm glad I did. It's just sweet enough with 2 cups. I think you could easily make this with fat free creamer and Splenda or a Splenda/sugar combination for a lower calorie option. Next time I may try using vanilla infused sugar. This would make an excellent craft fair product, year-round hostess gift, Christmas gift, or even a get well gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a super delicious recipe and tastes just like Trader Joe's Chai Mix, but unfortunately, it's very high in sugar and chemicals (in the non-dairy creamers). The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I decided to create a healthier (but just as tasty) version. For the mix: 3 cups of powdered milk, and all the spices listed in the recipe. That's it. Then, to make a cup of chai tea: Make a regular cup of hot tea with a tea bag (not instant tea) and let it steep for a couple minutes. Stir in enough of the powdered mix to taste. Add liquid Stevia to sweeten, and a little splash of vanilla. Voila! Just as tasty, but all natural and low calorie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
LOVE THIS! I am a fan of Oregon chai but can no longer find it nearby grocery stores. This tastes just like it. I will share your recipe with my friends who also miss Oregon chi. THANK YOU for the return of decadent Sunday mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is very good. I used sweetener instead of the sugar since I am making this for a diabetic brother for Christmas. I also didn't have cardamom so I left it out. It was still delicious and it mixed just find without blending it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Burr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great starter recipe! I did not add the cardamom ($11 @ Walmart, no thanks). Added a little more non dairy creamer and saw in my pantry some pumpkin spice non dairy creamer which sounded good, so I added a tiny pinch of that and a tiny pinch cocoa powder (not sure what possessed me to do so, but turned out good). I like mixing into hot milk for a creamier drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States