Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This turned out great!!! I like my chai very spicy so next time I will definitely add the nutmeg. I dont suggest using a vitamix- I did and found the mix got too hot and seemed to be cooking...Then i had to scrape and break pieces out of the bottom of the vitamix jug to get into my food processer to finish the job. It is very important for the mix to blended very finely otherwise the spices become kind of "bitty" or like chewy little bits at the end of the cup. I will always use this recipe! It is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I love this, I also made a caffenine free and low fat version for a friend who can't have caffeine or too much sugar, by using decaffinated tea and stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I love this recipe! I made this for Christmas presents last year and it was a big hit. I keep it on hand all the time, as I am not a coffee drinker. The extra spices are essential. I cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup. I've cut back a 1/2 cup before, and it was very noticeable, i haven't done that again! I add vanilla extract to sugar and dry it, then blend everything in my food processor. It does create a fine mist of tea in my kitchen, but it's not terrible. Overall, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
A fantastic way to make a bulk amount for gifts and the winter season. The flavor is good, but I haven't gotten the texture quite right...generally get "floaties" film on the top. Mixing it with a commercial cocoa helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
So happy to see this recipe! I'm saving so much by making this at home vs. running down to the famous coffee chain and spending $4! And this recipe tastes so much better than theirs, plus you are saving on cal's and can modify your sugar content if you're watching that too! I had to modify the sugar content in this recipe so I implemented the suggestions and I still think it tastes so yummy. I used sugar-free powdered creamer and substituted 1 1/2 c. generic "Splenda" for the white sugar. As per another suggestion, I made a cup using a chai-flavored tea bag, then stirred it into that to eliminate having to buy instant tea as I already had the tea bags on hand. I also liked another reviewer's suggestion to use Pumpkin Pie Spice instead of purchasing all those other spices listed. It worked perfectly! I added 4 tablespoons of it into the mixture but you many not want yours as savory so add slowly and taste as you go if you go the Pumpkin Spice route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Love it. Easy for kids to mix. Stores easily in old tea jar. Great gift for sick friend. Long shelf life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wow, what a wonderful idea! I'm hooked on the David Rio chai mix so I was really attracted to the idea of making my own mix at home. It's wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly except I left out 1/2 C of sugar. My only thing is the taste of the actual tea is a little strong (for me) and I will be sure to slightly reduce the tea amount next time. I can't wait to experiment with the nutmeg and allspice as well! One thing to point out: I had to buy tea, powdered milk and the creamers to make this recipe. I bought the large sizes of each and made a TON. It cost me $13, which is about what I would pay for two cups of chai from my local coffee house. This is just as wonderful, but a fraction of the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Silver Burnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made a recipe and a half, but halved the sugar after reading some of the reviews that it was too sweet with full sugar. I think this mix tastes just like Trader Joe's. And since there isn't a TJ's in Colorado (yet) I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made half of the recipe using decaf instant tea and all low-fat or no-fat ingredients. The recipe called for 1-1/4 cups of sugar for 18 servings. Based on the reviews, I used a little less than 1 cup of Splenda, and it was still too sweet for my taste. Next time, I will try 2/3 cup of Splenda and add more if necessary. I liked the spicy flavor of this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
first of all this recipe makes way too much...if u don't end up liking it what a waste! second its not that great. If I had tasted it from someone that made it for me I would not ask for it again. It has the spice which is nice but the other flavors aren't working for me, now I am stuck drinking something that is so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States