Chai Tea Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
made as Christmas gifts for a couple of friends who love chai. put in pretty jars...already asking for recipe so they can make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wdccheckel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I had Chai latte at the bakery/coffee shop down the street from me, and I was hooked. I wanted to be able to make it myself (budgets, you know). This mix is just terrific! Just the flavor I was looking for. I made 1/4 of a batch just to check the flavor without a huge investment. It was just what I was looking for. Even hubby (who hadn't had chai before) loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Nothing compares to real chai tea with sugar and a bit of cream, in my book, but this is tasty and very simple to prepare. I made this once exactly as directed and found it excessively sweet, so I used just 2 cups sugar the second time around and prefer it. If you leave the seasoning out, it is highly reminiscent of classic pearl milk tea -- I'm going to buy some tapioca pearls so I can make boba tea in my own home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I love Chai tea and made this and followed recipe to the t loved it also brought it to work and people loved it will make again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I'm so happy I stumbled upon this recipe. With a few minor changes, it was perfect. I wasn't able to find any instant tea, so I made it without the tea, brewed a bag of orange pekoe, and then added the mix to taste. Also, as I made it for gifts, I made some with sugar and some with Splenda. The sugar recipe was too sweet, so I added about 1/2 a teaspoon more of each spice, 1/3 cup more non-fat dairy creamer and skim-milk powder. I also reduced the sugar to about 1 1/2 cups. With the Splenda version, I could not use the vanilla flavoured powdered non-dairy creamer, as it was sweetened with sugar. I also found when I added vanilla to the Splenda, it did not turn out too well. So, I added the vanilla to the dry milk powder and let it dry before blending. It tastes fabulous. Here's hoping it is appreciated by those who receive it as gifts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Doubled the spices, although didn't have more tea to add. I used tea leaves and processed them in the food processor; while they were processed to a powder, they didn't dissolve in the drink. This left a sludge at the end of the drink, but otherwise it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Awesome recipe, and the great thing is it handles variation extremely well. We've done it with and without the food processor, both work, I like the processed better as its a finer powder. We've done the cardamom and left it out. My favorite is with cinnamon, ginger, cloves and nutmeg. Next round we will start experimenting with sugar sub for some of the sugar. WELL worth the making of it, thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcirisheyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I substitute Stevia powder for sugar and use sugar free creamer and nonfat dry milk along with with double ALL the spices (including white pepper). Delish!! 5 stars for sure. Trader Joe's - eat your heart out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
FYI: You can buy cardonmen at World Market for $3.99 a bottle. I always like to make things exactly as the recipe calls the first time. So, I did. I agree: as is, it's just too sweet for me. I have enough for a second batch...will make that minus a ton of sugar and mix it with the first batch...I bet it will be fine and way yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
My daughter and I just tasted this, admittedly skeptical how good it would be. Wow. Awesome. As good as anything I've gotten from any number of coffee shops. I made the recipe exactly as listed, grinding in small batches in a coffee grinder to get it powdery. We added 2 heaping tablespoons to a mug of hot milk and it tastes great. My daughter is going to give some to her friend, who is a chai fanatic, as a Christmas present. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States