Chai Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
The recipe needed the omission of yoghurt, another 100g of flour and an egg to work out at the right consistency. Taste is fantastic, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Yum!!! I did not have yogurt so I added one egg white and 2 tablespoons of 1/3 less fat cream cheese, softened. I used decaffeinated tea and I would imagine any kind of chai tea would work. My kids and I loved these cupcakes!!! They don't need frosting but would taste great with any kind!!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I also made the modified recipe (cutting out yogurt and adding an egg and more baking powder) and it was FANTASTIC! I might even say they were the best cupcakes I've ever eaten. I made an almond cream cheese icing I modified from K. Hughes's pumpkin bar icing recipe. They were beautiful and had great texture. I just wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Like most of the reviews I found it strange that there were no eggs. The batter was very liquid and the cupcakes did not rise that much. I’m thinking double the recipe; add more flour, baking powder and 2 eggs should do the trick. Other then that I have to say they tasted just like chai and I found them to be delicious. Will definitely try the recipe again with some adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I modified this recipe a bit, due to the people that said the texture was off on these cupcakes, and mine turned out very nice and not too sweet. I used soy milk and reduced the amount to 1/2C, plus added 1t chai masala spices to the milk-tea, used oat flour instead of white flour, 1/3C fat free plain greek yogurt instead of 1/2C plain yogurt, added an egg in with the wet ingredients and I also added about 1t grated fresh ginger. I also added about 1 1/2 scoops plain pea protein powder, which you can't even taste in the final product, but you can just add some more flour, about 1/3C until cupcake-batter consistency is reached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These with just a few minor modifications and cream cheese frosting have become my signature, everyone LOVES them and they are so fast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is an excellent recipe-- with modifications. I followed chillmama's suggestions (extra spices in the milk, eggs instead of yogurt, eyeballing the batter and adding flour until it looked right) and then made a few of my own: I substituted 1/4 cup of the sugar with honey, used almond milk, and lowered the oven temperature to 325 degrees to keep the honey from browning too quickly. I also added a bit more pepper by accident-- probably close to 1/8 teaspoon-- which seems to have added a stronger, and very nice, peppery edge. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
DO NOT MAKE THIS CUPCAKE without modifying the recipe a significant amount!! Everyone's right, it's waaay too runny. I ended up with closer to 2 cups of flour. I also added 2 eggs. These cupcakes were pretty bland, despite me adding even more spices. They have a nice chai smell and faint chai taste, and are a lovely color, but I wouldn't enjoy them without frosting--that's how unflavorful they are. I recommend trying a different recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These cupcakes are phenomenal! Very dense, which I like. With whipped cream cream cheese frosting, they taste just like a chai latte! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States