Chai Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I can't fairly rate this recipe because I modified it. I read about the consistency problems that other people had and It just didn't seem quite right to me that there wasn't any eggs. I doubled the recipe, omitted the yogurt completely, added two eggs, another 1/2 tsp of baking powder and then enough extra flour until I got what "I" consider to be "normal" muffin batter consistency. I also boiled the milk with extra chai spices like cardamon, ginger and cinnamon, (plus the tea bags) then strained it. This modification came out nearly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chillmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
First, let me say a few things. I have never given a 1 star rating before. Usually the recipes that I make do have some value to them. The flavor may be a little off, the texture may be weird, the cooking time may be wrong, but their is usually something that I do like. Let me also say that I love chai. I drink chai every morning, so I really thought that I was going to like these cupcakes. I followed the recipe exactly. The batter turned out to be watery, not just wet, but watery. After pouring it into the liners, I baked it for 20 minutes and checked them. Not done, so left in another 5 minutes, not done. After 30 minutes of baking, I removed them. They collapsed within minutes. I don't even know how to describe the texture. It's like a really soggy cupcake - like goo in a cupcake liner. I would say tht maybe I did something wrong, but I have baked a lot of cupcakes and never had anything like this happen before. I was going to top these with the chai frosting from this site, but didn't even want to waste my ingredients trying to save these cupcakes. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Loved these! Very moist. I made a vanilla frosting and added a little nutmeg and cinnamon and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made these just a few days ago and they were delicious, a cousin to carrot cake! I upped all the dry stuff, especially the chi tea which I let steep for a bit longer and did without the vanilla because I did not have any, and added two eggs. I debated adding the yogurt but ending up throwing it in last second then added flour until I got a nice texture. They came out a beautiful color with a nice spongy texture, not too moist at all. (If your batter is too soupy add flour of course!) They really did taste like chi. If yours did not, next time use an extra tea bag and steep for longer. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
After reading the reviews, I followed one of the modified recipes (double the recipe, skip the yogurt, add 2 eggs, and an additional 1/2 teaspoon baking powder). I also substituted the chai with 8 servings of instant coffee (like Starbucks Via). I used milk chocolate frosting. Went over HUGE at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Did not care for the texture at all. The taste was very good and "moist" could not even begin to explain the mushy feel. Loved the taste though, wish it worked but it just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The texture of these cupcakes is not very appealing. It tasted like a somewhat mushy pancake, although they were fully cooked. The flavor is nice and spicy but the texture really ruined the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshinEquine
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I love these! everyone is always asking for them! I have even talked to people who don't like chai tea and they love these cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshinEquine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These cupcakes were amazing! I am a sucker for chai and these hit the spot. I read other reviews that said to omit the yogurt and add two eggs so I went half way and added 1/4 cup yogurt and 1 egg and they were perfect! Turned out just like a cupcake should. I topped it with chai buttermilk frosting also found on this site. YUMMY! I will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These cupcakes were so moist! One family member says: "These were the best cupcakes I've ever had!" I topped them with vanilla frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~LadyEquus~

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sports Ball Cupcakes

See how to turn cupcakes into sporty little treats.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States