Chai Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
The chai flavor of these cupcakes was great! And, I used vanilla frosting, which was a nice compliment. The only thing about them is that they were VERY moist -- to the point that moisture seeped through the liner. Possibly because of the yogurt? They sank in the center, too, unlike most cupcakes I've made. But, I don't think my friends and I minded too much -- they were gone pretty quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The texture of these cupcakes is not very appealing. It tasted like a somewhat mushy pancake, although they were fully cooked. The flavor is nice and spicy but the texture really ruined the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These cupcakes were so moist! One family member says: "These were the best cupcakes I've ever had!" I topped them with vanilla frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~LadyEquus~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Loved these! Very moist. I made a vanilla frosting and added a little nutmeg and cinnamon and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshinEquine
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I love these! everyone is always asking for them! I have even talked to people who don't like chai tea and they love these cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshinEquine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Did not care for the texture at all. The taste was very good and "moist" could not even begin to explain the mushy feel. Loved the taste though, wish it worked but it just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Amazing cupcakes! I only used the two chai bags (I used vanilla chai). Also, I used applesauce instead of yogurt as I didn't have any; works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This one actually turned out pretty good for me, except the batch was so small (only 8!). Because of everyone saying that they were too moist, I didn't add all of the milk mixture,just until the texture was smooth but not too liquidy. If I make this again I will most likely double the recipe. My boyfriend who doesn't like chai loved them, but he said they didn't really taste like chai (I never got to frost them!). If I make again, I will definitely double the recipe. Definitely worth making though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:Miradori:.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I can't fairly rate this recipe because I modified it. I read about the consistency problems that other people had and It just didn't seem quite right to me that there wasn't any eggs. I doubled the recipe, omitted the yogurt completely, added two eggs, another 1/2 tsp of baking powder and then enough extra flour until I got what "I" consider to be "normal" muffin batter consistency. I also boiled the milk with extra chai spices like cardamon, ginger and cinnamon, (plus the tea bags) then strained it. This modification came out nearly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chillmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
i think it was a lovely recipe. the moisture came out really nicely. cooked for 20 min and seemed to be a magical time. be careful however, because even at the twenty minute mark, a slight amount of cake will show up on tooth pick. this is because they are so moisty moist. paired with the vanilla-chocolate frosting recipe. but did not add chocolate. 1 1/2 c con. sugar and half a cup of butter.[8 TBSP] room temp of course. 1 tsp of vanilla. beat together eat that ish up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinna-man.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States