Chai Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
After reading the reviews, I followed one of the modified recipes (double the recipe, skip the yogurt, add 2 eggs, and an additional 1/2 teaspoon baking powder). I also substituted the chai with 8 servings of instant coffee (like Starbucks Via). I used milk chocolate frosting. Went over HUGE at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I liked the multi-layered flavor in these "cupcakes"... the quotes are because they were more like muffins for me. I altered the recipe a bit by using vanilla yogurt and only 1/3 cup sugar. I liked how they turned out but will be working toward a more fluffy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were okay. If I make these again, I will try to modify the recipe per some of the other reviewers' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Sorry, these came out like little bran muffins. I tried to modify the recipe as previous reviewers suggested, but they just didn't turn out for me. I had such high hopes for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
kind of tastes like a spice cake, i love chai and these cupcakes were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
i think it was a lovely recipe. the moisture came out really nicely. cooked for 20 min and seemed to be a magical time. be careful however, because even at the twenty minute mark, a slight amount of cake will show up on tooth pick. this is because they are so moisty moist. paired with the vanilla-chocolate frosting recipe. but did not add chocolate. 1 1/2 c con. sugar and half a cup of butter.[8 TBSP] room temp of course. 1 tsp of vanilla. beat together eat that ish up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinna-man.
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I can't fairly rate this recipe because I modified it. I read about the consistency problems that other people had and It just didn't seem quite right to me that there wasn't any eggs. I doubled the recipe, omitted the yogurt completely, added two eggs, another 1/2 tsp of baking powder and then enough extra flour until I got what "I" consider to be "normal" muffin batter consistency. I also boiled the milk with extra chai spices like cardamon, ginger and cinnamon, (plus the tea bags) then strained it. This modification came out nearly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chillmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This one actually turned out pretty good for me, except the batch was so small (only 8!). Because of everyone saying that they were too moist, I didn't add all of the milk mixture,just until the texture was smooth but not too liquidy. If I make this again I will most likely double the recipe. My boyfriend who doesn't like chai loved them, but he said they didn't really taste like chai (I never got to frost them!). If I make again, I will definitely double the recipe. Definitely worth making though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:Miradori:.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Amazing cupcakes! I only used the two chai bags (I used vanilla chai). Also, I used applesauce instead of yogurt as I didn't have any; works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Did not care for the texture at all. The taste was very good and "moist" could not even begin to explain the mushy feel. Loved the taste though, wish it worked but it just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sports Ball Cupcakes

See how to turn cupcakes into sporty little treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States