Chai Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made these just a few days ago and they were delicious, a cousin to carrot cake! I upped all the dry stuff, especially the chi tea which I let steep for a bit longer and did without the vanilla because I did not have any, and added two eggs. I debated adding the yogurt but ending up throwing it in last second then added flour until I got a nice texture. They came out a beautiful color with a nice spongy texture, not too moist at all. (If your batter is too soupy add flour of course!) They really did taste like chi. If yours did not, next time use an extra tea bag and steep for longer. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
First, let me say a few things. I have never given a 1 star rating before. Usually the recipes that I make do have some value to them. The flavor may be a little off, the texture may be weird, the cooking time may be wrong, but their is usually something that I do like. Let me also say that I love chai. I drink chai every morning, so I really thought that I was going to like these cupcakes. I followed the recipe exactly. The batter turned out to be watery, not just wet, but watery. After pouring it into the liners, I baked it for 20 minutes and checked them. Not done, so left in another 5 minutes, not done. After 30 minutes of baking, I removed them. They collapsed within minutes. I don't even know how to describe the texture. It's like a really soggy cupcake - like goo in a cupcake liner. I would say tht maybe I did something wrong, but I have baked a lot of cupcakes and never had anything like this happen before. I was going to top these with the chai frosting from this site, but didn't even want to waste my ingredients trying to save these cupcakes. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
After reading the reviews, I followed one of the modified recipes (double the recipe, skip the yogurt, add 2 eggs, and an additional 1/2 teaspoon baking powder). I also substituted the chai with 8 servings of instant coffee (like Starbucks Via). I used milk chocolate frosting. Went over HUGE at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I liked the multi-layered flavor in these "cupcakes"... the quotes are because they were more like muffins for me. I altered the recipe a bit by using vanilla yogurt and only 1/3 cup sugar. I liked how they turned out but will be working toward a more fluffy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were okay. If I make these again, I will try to modify the recipe per some of the other reviewers' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Sorry, these came out like little bran muffins. I tried to modify the recipe as previous reviewers suggested, but they just didn't turn out for me. I had such high hopes for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
kind of tastes like a spice cake, i love chai and these cupcakes were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
i think it was a lovely recipe. the moisture came out really nicely. cooked for 20 min and seemed to be a magical time. be careful however, because even at the twenty minute mark, a slight amount of cake will show up on tooth pick. this is because they are so moisty moist. paired with the vanilla-chocolate frosting recipe. but did not add chocolate. 1 1/2 c con. sugar and half a cup of butter.[8 TBSP] room temp of course. 1 tsp of vanilla. beat together eat that ish up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinna-man.
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I can't fairly rate this recipe because I modified it. I read about the consistency problems that other people had and It just didn't seem quite right to me that there wasn't any eggs. I doubled the recipe, omitted the yogurt completely, added two eggs, another 1/2 tsp of baking powder and then enough extra flour until I got what "I" consider to be "normal" muffin batter consistency. I also boiled the milk with extra chai spices like cardamon, ginger and cinnamon, (plus the tea bags) then strained it. This modification came out nearly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chillmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This one actually turned out pretty good for me, except the batch was so small (only 8!). Because of everyone saying that they were too moist, I didn't add all of the milk mixture,just until the texture was smooth but not too liquidy. If I make this again I will most likely double the recipe. My boyfriend who doesn't like chai loved them, but he said they didn't really taste like chai (I never got to frost them!). If I make again, I will definitely double the recipe. Definitely worth making though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:Miradori:.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Sports Ball Cupcakes

See how to turn cupcakes into sporty little treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States