Chai Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was easy to make and tasted great but I suggest dont use a pepper grinder as a substitute for the ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Since I saw reviews that said these didn't have a string chai flavor, I substituted the milk/tea mixture with a chai concentrate liquid (mixed 3:1 instead of the recommended 1:1). Also, instead of frosting them (which I felt took away from the chai flavor), I glazed them. I used powdered sugar, a little bit of cinnamon and ginger, and enough of the chai mix liquid to make a glaze. I also think this compensated for the very moist texture, since there was no mound of frosting on top. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These cupackes had yummy flavor but deflated after baking. Not sure if I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These cupcakes were amazing! I am a sucker for chai and these hit the spot. I read other reviews that said to omit the yogurt and add two eggs so I went half way and added 1/4 cup yogurt and 1 egg and they were perfect! Turned out just like a cupcake should. I topped it with chai buttermilk frosting also found on this site. YUMMY! I will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made these just a few days ago and they were delicious, a cousin to carrot cake! I upped all the dry stuff, especially the chi tea which I let steep for a bit longer and did without the vanilla because I did not have any, and added two eggs. I debated adding the yogurt but ending up throwing it in last second then added flour until I got a nice texture. They came out a beautiful color with a nice spongy texture, not too moist at all. (If your batter is too soupy add flour of course!) They really did taste like chi. If yours did not, next time use an extra tea bag and steep for longer. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
First, let me say a few things. I have never given a 1 star rating before. Usually the recipes that I make do have some value to them. The flavor may be a little off, the texture may be weird, the cooking time may be wrong, but their is usually something that I do like. Let me also say that I love chai. I drink chai every morning, so I really thought that I was going to like these cupcakes. I followed the recipe exactly. The batter turned out to be watery, not just wet, but watery. After pouring it into the liners, I baked it for 20 minutes and checked them. Not done, so left in another 5 minutes, not done. After 30 minutes of baking, I removed them. They collapsed within minutes. I don't even know how to describe the texture. It's like a really soggy cupcake - like goo in a cupcake liner. I would say tht maybe I did something wrong, but I have baked a lot of cupcakes and never had anything like this happen before. I was going to top these with the chai frosting from this site, but didn't even want to waste my ingredients trying to save these cupcakes. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
After reading the reviews, I followed one of the modified recipes (double the recipe, skip the yogurt, add 2 eggs, and an additional 1/2 teaspoon baking powder). I also substituted the chai with 8 servings of instant coffee (like Starbucks Via). I used milk chocolate frosting. Went over HUGE at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I liked the multi-layered flavor in these "cupcakes"... the quotes are because they were more like muffins for me. I altered the recipe a bit by using vanilla yogurt and only 1/3 cup sugar. I liked how they turned out but will be working toward a more fluffy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were okay. If I make these again, I will try to modify the recipe per some of the other reviewers' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States