Chai Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was INCREDIBLE! My best friend loves chai so i made the homemade chai and these cookies for christmas. She loved them, as did I! They resemble a gingersnap but are not as crisp, and they have a very original flavor to them that is just like chai! The only thing i changed was not squashing the cookies with fork tongs as they looked prettier spreading out themselves, and i baked them 15 minutes. You MUST try these cookies and the chai tea mix in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I love these cookies!! My biggest addiction is Chai Tea, and I am so glad you made this recipe. My husband also loves these. I tried making them with Oregon Chai Tea mix. They were great, although if anyone tries this you will have to buy two boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I made this recipe tonight. I used David Rio Giraffe Decaf powdered chai mix. These were great! Next time I might try a stronger chai to make them even spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Wow! This has become one of my favorite quick and easy cookie recipes. I did end up cooking them at 375 for 8 minutes as my first batch burned after 7 minutes at 400 but apparently I'm not very good at judging "walnut" size as I halved the recipe and still ended up with 36 ginger snap size cookies! They taste so much more complicated than they are, I took some over to my mom's and she loved them also, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Delicious! I used a chai latte mix (Chamba Chai) and wasn't certain if the non-latte mix indicated was sweetened. Because of this I used only 1/3 Cup sugar. Next time I'll try using a little more sugar and a little less baking powder, which I could taste a bit in the baked cookie. Despite that...the texture was wonderful, a cross between peanut butter and shortbread cookies. I only baked them for 8-9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
These cookies taste amazing!! I used General Foods Chai Latte mix rather than making my own -- still wonderful!! It made more than the recipe said but they will disappear in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
A big cookie hit in my house! I used an instant Chai Tea mix from my pantry. It gave it a wonderful buttery Chai flavor, very similar to gingersnaps, but chewy, not crispy. Love 'em! My son, a culinary student, said "These cookies are addicting!" Thanks to the review warning from Nanpie, I was prepared for my hand mixer to be overworked. My poor mixer motor started to smell like it was burning. I added a couple of tablespoons of cold water intermittently to the batter as I folded in the dry mix. Be careful not to add too much. This recipe actually yielded 5-1/2 dozen nice sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBDAN54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These cookies get quite hard and crunchy and are absolutely perfect for dipping in coffee or in your chai tea. Very popular in my household. I made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These are tasty!! I used my smallest cookie scoop and I am now swimming in chai cookies but thats not a bad thing! I thought these might be too sweet with the sugar in the chai mix but they turned out perfect. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My sister made these and they were awesome! The chai flavor wasn't very prominent but they were still excellent. They are big and chewy...just how I like this type of cookie. I wouldn't describe them as a "butter" cookie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States