Chai Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These turned out well enough, and I loved how they smelled of chai, but didn't think the chai flavor came out very well. Perhaps I'm being too picky, though. Hubs thought they were okay. They were easy and made a lot of cookies, so that is good since I want them for my Christmas cookie tins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bex Slaughter
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
These were great! I burnt the first batch so I turned it down to 375 and they came out perfect. I also added 1 Tbs of Almond extract. Caffeinated cookies, how awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I have a slightly different version of this recipe. I used 2/3 cup shortening with 1/4 cup butter, light brown sugar to compliment the Chai drink powder, sweetened it with 1/2 tsp cinnamon and added 1 cup Guittard White Chips. They come out chewy and crispy at the same time. Hard to do. The flavor is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Couldn't really taste the chai and they came out kind of salty. In later batches, I placed a few chocolate chips on each cookie to distract from the saltiness...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Dough tasted great but the finished cookies were a shapeless and tasteless mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I followed the directions exactly like the recipe stated and it didn't turn out well at all. You couldn't smell or taste the chai at all, and the batter looked just like flour and water with butter. I hope to find a better recipe because chai tea is my husband's favorite. I wish there was a better way of checking the recipes before they're posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleElaine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I think that they tasted pretty good, but I do agree with others that they are a little dry. I think they could use more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I think this recipe needs some work. The batter is dry, not to dry to roll into balls though. I baked the first batch at 400 and they came out hard so I lowered the temp to 350 and that seemed to work out better. I think that this recipe needs some more liquid or less flour. One thing I did was melt some white chocolate and drizzled it over the top, not only did they look nice it tasted pretty good to. I probably wouldn't make these again, not that they are bad, but they just didn't 'WOW' me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My sister made these and they were awesome! The chai flavor wasn't very prominent but they were still excellent. They are big and chewy...just how I like this type of cookie. I wouldn't describe them as a "butter" cookie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Tasty, but skip the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States