Chad's Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this exactly as shown. It was very good. My husband and guests raved about it. I served it with nacho chips and sour cream to be added as a garnish. I will make it again. The only thing I will add as a personal note - it is more of a chili than a soup in my opinion. And next time I would like to add celantro as a garnish as well. I think it would be great used in making nachos with melted cheese in the oven!! I will do that in the future too. Thanks for the great recipe. (I do not review a lot of recipes but I use this site constantly. I would just like to say that please chef's stop rating a recipe based on how you changed it up. Make it first and than if you think it is soooo wonderful submit it as a new recipe. This is getting out of hand on this site. And I have noticed a lot of other comments like this. It is in fact changing up the whole "feeling" of how this site started) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this last night at the last minute. I used a pound and a half of ground turkey, a can of fire roasted tomatoes, I left out the Mexi-Corn (I'm watching my carb count) but I added in two additional large chopped red and orange bell peppers, two cans of organic black beans, homemade taco seasoning mix, and because I don't have Rotel on hand, I used one jar of organic chunky salsa. I did not use the chili sauce or jalepenos as my salsa was a medium salsa and warm enough on it's own. I used Bud Light beer. I did saute the onion, bell peppers, and a ton of garlic in EVOO before adding it to the crockpot. This cooked overnight and was ready to go this morning. It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I make a version of this a lot..I've not tried the bottle of beer ingredient, but I would imagine that it only enhances this easy, popular, and REALLY REALLY good dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Chad! This is good stuff!!! I made it today on one of our first cold days in southern Texas. I put everything in the crockpot except for green, red, and jalapeno peppers. I used a smoked beef sausage link cut up instead of the pork sausage and a Corona instead of the dark beer. I was so worried about the beer taste that I used only about 2/3 of a bottle and added about a cup of water. Well, it has been cooking for 5 hours and I have had two bowls already. It's very filling and the layers of flavor are amazing and come through in every bite. This is a true TexMex style dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Delicious! I made this for work and everyone raved about it. Followed recipe exactly. Used Negra Modelo beer and it gave it great flavor. More of a southwestern chili than a taco soup. Served it with tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream. Try putting the chips in the bowl first - you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
What a beautiful dish! Absolutely vibrant colors and lovely smell. I'm guessing my 12 year old son is liking it, since he's on his second bowl. I pretty much followed the recire, with a little creative measurement since my can sized were different that the authors. I left the seeds and ribs in the Jalapenos, and it isn't too spicy at all, (in fatc, I prefer a little more). A real winner and a future favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I had a girls night in and needed something easy that would feed a bunch. This soup was awesome!! The girls all loved it! I also had some white rice available for those who didn't want tortilla chips and it made a great combo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My family loves this great tasting easy to make soup. When some of the reviews said it was bland I made a few simple changes to add a little kick. I only used 2 chicken breasts and doubled the can goods. One of the cans of beans was black beans with jalapenos and my diced tomatoes were the kind with green chiles in it. We like a little kick at my home. My kids love to add sour cream, mexican shredded cheese and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used Farmland hot and spicy sausage (this was plenty hot) I had to forego adding the hot sauce because I knew the kids wouldn't be able to eat it. I used 2 chicken breasts instead of the hamburger. Turned out really well, but still kids thought it was too spicy, but husband and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I won 1st place in a chili cookoff with this recipe. I lightened up on the chili sauce by using 1/4 cup instead of the full 1/2 cup of which the recipe calls for. Thx Chad! Good stuff! ~Danielle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States