Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. Based on my preferences and from previous feedback, I made some modifications. My husband and I like spicy food but I found this recipe as is is a little too spicy. I only use a 1/2 of the jalapeños and cayenne pepper. I use 2 cans of the green chilies. I wanted my chili a little thicker so I pureed one can of the white beans and only used 2 cups of chicken broth. I also added a can of black beans and a can of corn. And finally since the cheese adds a lot of fat, rather than mixing it all in, I just sprinkle a little on top before eating. This is really delicious. Everyone I serve it too raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
783 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandgate, Vermont, USA
Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
We loved this recipe but it is soooooo hot! Per a previous review, I cut down to 2 cans of beans, and only used 1/4 tsp of cayene pepper and added some sour cream to cool it down but still...HOT! I will make again but I will eliminate the jalapeno peppers altogether (I'm not a huge fan of them anyways), cut the cumin down to 1 tsp and omit all cayenne pepper. Really, the taste is fabulous...if your not weak of tongue. I was practically sweating just eating a bowl! Still, will make again with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
First of all Excellent the tase is quite unique. Two helpful hints. I put everything together before I even turned on the flame on my big pot. Also I put the cheese in last so that it would not burn on the bottom of the pot. Made it both ways and frankly both ways turned out the same with the surprise when you eat it the next day. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I added a can of corn, used a can of cream of chicken in place of one can of chicken broth, used all mild green chilies instead of jalapenos (it came out perfectly spiced), and threw everything into the crockpot on high for 4 hours. I hand-shredded the chicken at the end and put it back in. Delicious! Oh, and I also pureed one can of the white beans and that really helped to thicken things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This chili is outstanding. My husband isn't a big fan of chili, so I thought maybe a white chicken chili would interest him instead. Ten bowls later, I can assure you he (and everyone else) loves it! Serve with a dollop of sour cream and a scoop of salsa on top...it tastes great once it's stirred in. But be careful if you don't like hot foods, or are serving to people who don't. It is considerably hot (and this is coming from someone who eats jalapenos out of the jar, wasabi with a spoon, and puts cayenne pepper in her green bean casserole). Cool it off with less jalapenos (replace with mild green chiles) if you need to. I also like to serve this chili over a serving of rice (sounds strange, but it's really really good!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
OH MY GOSH! This was great!!! I used skinless, boneless chicken tenders instead of the cooked chicken. I sauted them until they were no longer pink, then added the onions, fresh garlic, chiles, and spices to the same saute pan...Then I dumped everything into a big stew pot, and simmered it for an hour or so. I also added about 2 tsps of Chili Powder, and substituted shredded Colby/Jack cheese...This recipe got rave reviews from everyone! I served it with warm flour tortillas, and a huge salad. YUM! Will make this again!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This soup is nothing short of awesome. My husband raved about this soup for 2 days. I did brown the cooked chicken w/ the onions, didn't have white beans, just used 1 can navy beans & 1 can dark red kidney beans, added some frozen corn and 1 can of cream of chicken. Then, since it was EXTREMELY spicy (quite a kick) and sort of thin, I added some diced potatoes to absorb some of the broth and "kick". My husband was getting it out of the pot before I even added the cheese, which I'm sure is just as good sprinkled on top later. This recipe really surprised me on how it tasted like something you would get @ a pricey restaurant. It smells really good when cooking and would be an awesome soup to serve @ a party (and impress your guests). Way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
This is the BEST chili! By far my new favorite. It's the perfect amount of spice, very warm! I used pepperjack cheese and replaced 1 can of white beans with black beans. I added 1/2 c. sour cream at the end and topped with tomatoes. This is absolutely wonderful chili, thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkhas
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This is SO good! I just made it and am waiting for my husband to get home; if he doesn't hurry, it will be too late. :-) We like hot spicey foods, but we don't like it so overpowering that the heat takes over the flavor. SO! I used only 2 tablespoons of the jalapenos and chopped them up very finely so they would be well-distributed throughout the dish. I also used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. This is perfect seasoning for us. I also only put in one can of chicken broth on the advice of other reviewers, and I added a 4th can of beans to thicken it up a bit. Thank you, Cathy! It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Yum!! We loved this recipe. Made some changes. Used one pound all white meat ground turkey and 2 skinless, boned chicken breasts diced. Cooked the meat together with the seasonings. Added some chili powder to the seasoning. Reduced the cayenne to 1/8 teaspoon. To further lower fat I skipped the cheese and put 1/2 can beans in food processor and used this to thicken. Garnishes on side to use as desired were: cheese, tortilla chips, sour cream, salsa and red onion. Warms your tummy in this very chilly winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States