Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I love ceviche, but this recipe had too much celery and needed something sweet to offset the tartness. I originally made it exactly as written and thought it was just OK. I ended up adding chunks of very sweet fresh mango, which really helped make this easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was my first attempt at ceviche and it was amazing. I left out the parsley and used frozen (thawed) cod. I diced the fish pretty small and served the finished goodness in an endive leaf with a drizzle of olive oil and a bit of kosher salt. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malissa Lagios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this last night with a few modifications. Ingredients changes: 1. I omitted the celery and bell pepper. 2. I added about 1/4 cup of our homemade salsa to help bring it all together. 3. I did not use just scallops. I used a mix of orange roughy and scallops all diced into similar sized pieces. I used a whole bunch of cilantro instead of the 1/8 cup called for here. 4. I added a few drops of tabasco 5. KEY CHANGE: I added two whole diced avacados Preparation changes 1. I diced all the seafood before marinating it in the lime juice. Notes: I am three weeks post-op after having bariatric surgery. I needed something that was packed with protein, small and relatively soft to eat. Ceviche was the ticket. I have made many different ceviches and basically used this recipe as a template to make it the way we like here in South Texas. I really think the avacado adds something and the omission of the bell pepper and the celery really doesn't affect the overall flavor too much. There is bell pepper in our homemade salsa so we get a little of that flavor profile back in that regard. I didn't think my 14 and 11 year old kids would eat this, but they grabbed a bag of Julio's chips (the best chip ever made - trust me google it) and plowed through this stuff like they hadn't eaten in months. I love to see them eating healthy stuff like this. As for me, I had my three ounces and will have more (if the kids left me any)today. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I don't see what I did wrong I let it sit overnight and the lime taste was way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very fresh and yummy. Can be quite expensive to make due to the shortage of limes. I had to use a bag of 30 or so small limes to have enough juice to immerse the scallops but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great with shrimp too! I upped the cilantro, added salt, no celery, less parsley. Most importantly added Serrano or jalapeno to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Very good. I bought fresh scallops and shrimp and I boiled them slightly quick rinse in cold water so they stop cooking. I did use lots of lime juice and lemon juice. I used red onions since this is what I had on hand and since this was a last minute I mixed everything refrigerate for three hours. I doubled the recipe and glad I did everyone had seconds. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
As the poster suggested, I used halibut instead and it turned out delicious. I also omitted the bell pepper & celery. I added dash of tabasco sauce and chilli powder (ca).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was my first time making ceviche. I used this recipe as a base for the flavours I wanted. Marinated diced scallop, shrimp and tilapia in lime juice, cilantro and chillies overnight. Chopped grape tomatoes, green pepper, green and white onions, jalapeño, and more cilantro and added the fish, strained, to the veggies with S&P and a couple dashes of Cholula (my chillies and jalapeño were too mild). Poured the mix atop diced avocado and served with tortilla chips. Very good. I like the shrimp best I think, which is weird because I'm not really a shrimp person. Forgot olive oil, but adding some for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
recipe sounds yum. i'm leaving out the parsley cause i'm a cilantro purist..lol. also adding chopped Serrano peppers and topping with fresh chopped avocado. you can also do this with tilapia and shrimp..all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States