Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I'm kind of leery about eating raw scallops. I did some research and scallops can be eaten raw, but they will need to be extremely fresh, so you'll need to trust your supplier. Any time you eat 'raw' seafood you risk getting parasites. Since the scallops are marinaded, like lemon or lime juice, that actually "cooks" the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
What a winner! We tripled it for a party and had leftovers (worth it!) We used Scallops, Halibut and Prawns - left out the celery and added Shallots. A-mazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I love ceviche, but this recipe had too much celery and needed something sweet to offset the tartness. I originally made it exactly as written and thought it was just OK. I ended up adding chunks of very sweet fresh mango, which really helped make this easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was my first attempt at ceviche and it was amazing. I left out the parsley and used frozen (thawed) cod. I diced the fish pretty small and served the finished goodness in an endive leaf with a drizzle of olive oil and a bit of kosher salt. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malissa Lagios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this last night with a few modifications. Ingredients changes: 1. I omitted the celery and bell pepper. 2. I added about 1/4 cup of our homemade salsa to help bring it all together. 3. I did not use just scallops. I used a mix of orange roughy and scallops all diced into similar sized pieces. I used a whole bunch of cilantro instead of the 1/8 cup called for here. 4. I added a few drops of tabasco 5. KEY CHANGE: I added two whole diced avacados Preparation changes 1. I diced all the seafood before marinating it in the lime juice. Notes: I am three weeks post-op after having bariatric surgery. I needed something that was packed with protein, small and relatively soft to eat. Ceviche was the ticket. I have made many different ceviches and basically used this recipe as a template to make it the way we like here in South Texas. I really think the avacado adds something and the omission of the bell pepper and the celery really doesn't affect the overall flavor too much. There is bell pepper in our homemade salsa so we get a little of that flavor profile back in that regard. I didn't think my 14 and 11 year old kids would eat this, but they grabbed a bag of Julio's chips (the best chip ever made - trust me google it) and plowed through this stuff like they hadn't eaten in months. I love to see them eating healthy stuff like this. As for me, I had my three ounces and will have more (if the kids left me any)today. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I don't see what I did wrong I let it sit overnight and the lime taste was way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very fresh and yummy. Can be quite expensive to make due to the shortage of limes. I had to use a bag of 30 or so small limes to have enough juice to immerse the scallops but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great with shrimp too! I upped the cilantro, added salt, no celery, less parsley. Most importantly added Serrano or jalapeno to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Very good. I bought fresh scallops and shrimp and I boiled them slightly quick rinse in cold water so they stop cooking. I did use lots of lime juice and lemon juice. I used red onions since this is what I had on hand and since this was a last minute I mixed everything refrigerate for three hours. I doubled the recipe and glad I did everyone had seconds. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States