Ceviche Peruano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great recipe. My mother is Peruvian and this is very authentic. I usually add more garlic than what is in this recipe. I also use lemon juice. My mom says its interchangeable - she usually makes it with lemon. And usually served with sweet potato & corn (not regular potato). The sweet of the sweet potato and corn is supposed to counteract the the tangy-ness of the ceviche. Although I admit I sometimes serve it with chips (like the Mexican version)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I laughed so hard when I read that a reviewer sauteed this!! Ceviche is ONLY "cooked" in the lime juice and is not placed over heat of any kind. I've never seen white potato served in a cevicheria...but the sweet potato is a must. The onion should be sliced and this should NOT be eaten over crackers if you want authentic. Usually it is either plain fish (bass is more common than tilapia) or a lot of mixed sea creatures you won't find for sale in the States. Like a lot of Peruvians, I prefer the pure fish version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My husband makes this. He makes it very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giselle
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very very good....like all ceviches are. THe next time I make this, I will dice the onions...the thin strips get in the way and are not conducive to being eaten on a chip or cracker. I loved the sweet potato...great contrast to the sour lime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I had some tilapia and shrimp so I decided to make this recipe. Wasn't quite sure how I should have cooked them so I sauteed them in the pan with some cooking spray. Also, I did not use the habanero pepper since I do not like the heat. My fiance loved it, I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
this was wonderful and very authentic, i only used sweet potato and i omitted the cilantro. very good. hubby is from peru and he was very impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was so delicious! The only changes made were to add cucumber, though I don't think it was necessary after having tasted it. The only changes I would make in the future would be to add more habanero because I like it spicy. Also great the next day with pita chips. *edit: I noticed that another user actually cooked the fish by sauteing it but it should be noted that in a ceviche recipe the fish is "cooked" through the lime juice marinade. It requires no heat. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is the real thing! Ceviche is a Peruvian dish and well so far,from all the recipes this one is close to authentic. Le falto el choclo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States