Ceviche Peruano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Our neighbor from Peru loved this recipe. It tasted just like the Ceviche that he makes. My hubby and I loved this recipe. If you like Ceviche, this is the best recipe. ( Peru style )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
delicious recipe. i made it for 2 potlucks and it was a hit both times. i used large/jumbo frozen precooked shrimp both times and just cut them to smaller pieces...i am a bit wary of "cooking" raw shrimp only in lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I am from Peru and our typical Peruvian Cebiche uses no potatoes, no celery, no cumin. We basically cut the fish into 1/2-inch pieces (I love Bass or Tilapia), add salt, pepper, chop fresh cilantro, a bit of garlic and lime juice (about 8-10 limes). Fish has to be cooked in the lime juice. You can add shrimp/clams/octopus, it's optional. My family loves the original Cebiche, fish only. Add some fresh Aji Amarillo (Peruvian chili, looks like the Habanero but its taste is amazing and unique) or Aji Amarillo paste - you can buy them at any Latin Market - and mix it with the lime juice. Add some lettuce on the side as well as peeled & cooked sweet potato (just a slice per person) and add some corn on the side as well (about 1/4 cup. Don't forget to add the onion (I use red onion - julienned red onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I have never had Ceviche with potatoes. I had it with just sweet and added corn. Wow this was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlwiesner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I tried this on our weekly "international" cooking night. We have never had anything like this before and were excited to try it. Absolutely wonderful Ana, thank you so much for introducing us to a new dish we will try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Hubby love-love-loves this! He is Peruvian, and says this is just like ceviche at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is almost the same recipe my wife and her mother who are from Peru use. I love this and it is the best Ceviche I have had. The only difference is they don't use sweet potato. I recommend anyone looking for a good Ceviche recipe to give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great recipe. My mother is Peruvian and this is very authentic. I usually add more garlic than what is in this recipe. I also use lemon juice. My mom says its interchangeable - she usually makes it with lemon. And usually served with sweet potato & corn (not regular potato). The sweet of the sweet potato and corn is supposed to counteract the the tangy-ness of the ceviche. Although I admit I sometimes serve it with chips (like the Mexican version)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I laughed so hard when I read that a reviewer sauteed this!! Ceviche is ONLY "cooked" in the lime juice and is not placed over heat of any kind. I've never seen white potato served in a cevicheria...but the sweet potato is a must. The onion should be sliced and this should NOT be eaten over crackers if you want authentic. Usually it is either plain fish (bass is more common than tilapia) or a lot of mixed sea creatures you won't find for sale in the States. Like a lot of Peruvians, I prefer the pure fish version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My husband makes this. He makes it very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giselle

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States