Ceviche Peruano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I am from Peru and our typical Peruvian Cebiche uses no potatoes, no celery, no cumin. We basically cut the fish into 1/2-inch pieces (I love Bass or Tilapia), add salt, pepper, chop fresh cilantro, a bit of garlic and lime juice (about 8-10 limes). Fish has to be cooked in the lime juice. You can add shrimp/clams/octopus, it's optional. My family loves the original Cebiche, fish only. Add some fresh Aji Amarillo (Peruvian chili, looks like the Habanero but its taste is amazing and unique) or Aji Amarillo paste - you can buy them at any Latin Market - and mix it with the lime juice. Add some lettuce on the side as well as peeled & cooked sweet potato (just a slice per person) and add some corn on the side as well (about 1/4 cup. Don't forget to add the onion (I use red onion - julienned red onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I laughed so hard when I read that a reviewer sauteed this!! Ceviche is ONLY "cooked" in the lime juice and is not placed over heat of any kind. I've never seen white potato served in a cevicheria...but the sweet potato is a must. The onion should be sliced and this should NOT be eaten over crackers if you want authentic. Usually it is either plain fish (bass is more common than tilapia) or a lot of mixed sea creatures you won't find for sale in the States. Like a lot of Peruvians, I prefer the pure fish version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was so delicious! The only changes made were to add cucumber, though I don't think it was necessary after having tasted it. The only changes I would make in the future would be to add more habanero because I like it spicy. Also great the next day with pita chips. *edit: I noticed that another user actually cooked the fish by sauteing it but it should be noted that in a ceviche recipe the fish is "cooked" through the lime juice marinade. It requires no heat. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is the real thing! Ceviche is a Peruvian dish and well so far,from all the recipes this one is close to authentic. Le falto el choclo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great recipe. My mother is Peruvian and this is very authentic. I usually add more garlic than what is in this recipe. I also use lemon juice. My mom says its interchangeable - she usually makes it with lemon. And usually served with sweet potato & corn (not regular potato). The sweet of the sweet potato and corn is supposed to counteract the the tangy-ness of the ceviche. Although I admit I sometimes serve it with chips (like the Mexican version)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
this was wonderful and very authentic, i only used sweet potato and i omitted the cilantro. very good. hubby is from peru and he was very impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Hubby love-love-loves this! He is Peruvian, and says this is just like ceviche at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is almost the same recipe my wife and her mother who are from Peru use. I love this and it is the best Ceviche I have had. The only difference is they don't use sweet potato. I recommend anyone looking for a good Ceviche recipe to give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very very good....like all ceviches are. THe next time I make this, I will dice the onions...the thin strips get in the way and are not conducive to being eaten on a chip or cracker. I loved the sweet potato...great contrast to the sour lime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My husband makes this. He makes it very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giselle

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States