Central American Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Tasted great, was quick and easy to make. The sauce is wonderful. We added some jalapeno slices from a jar for a little extra heat, but it was great without the tinkering. Will add some extra tomatillos next time for the tartness. Husband really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Delicious, sauce is spicy and tasty. So easy to make. All done in 1/2 hour. Did add salt to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Great recipe and my family loved it. I don't have a blender, so I diced the ingredients for the sauce instead. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
These are great! Such a nice change from regular tacos. We love the potatoes in it and the green sauce really completes the dish. We aren't big fans of corn tortillas, but these just aren't as good with flour tortillas. Gotta do the corn tortillas! :) And I learned not to heat the corn tortillas in the microwave...they broke so easily and got a weird taste; will definitely heat on the stove from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Incredible food! As previously described by other reviews it is subtle, unique, and the sauce is fantastic with the garlic, warmth of the jalapeno, fresh cilantro, and avocado/tomatillo combo, all melded in a warm soft corn tortillo. Doesn't get any better. Definitely one of our favorites. PS, thanks to the reviewer for the cumin tip, it did add smokey taste to the filling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseAg
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
When first made these tacos according to recipe, they where just alright. The second time I added chicken boullin (I use Knorrs, also called "Caldo de Pollo"), a small pinch of cumin, and a dash of garlic salt and they where AWESOME. The green salsa recipe is fantastic just as directed. I also cut the potatoes to 3 instead of 5. The best tacos I have made, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseAg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Really good! All it promised-- quiet flavors of the meat and potatoes with the unique zing of the green sauce. Definitely not your same old tired Mexican flavors, will certainly make again. Ate something similar at a Yucatan Restaurant- recipe for the person looking for unique flavor experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I just made the tomatillo/avocado mixture, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I kept the ratio of potato to meat the same since I prefer less meat. The green sauce was wonderful with the taco, in particular paired with the corn tortilla. Only thing I added was a little cumin to the meat and potato. Will make this dish again, my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
The sauce is indeed excellent, I added lime juice for a little extra zing. Also like other review's I cut the potatoes down to two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Delicious tacos without the tortillas.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States