Celery Wine Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I tried this recipe and thought it was great! After reading the comments, I added 1/4C of diced yellow onion, used mushrooms from a jar which I had on hand, red pepper instead and sauteed all the vegetables first as that's they way my husband prefers. I also followed the recommendation of the frozen grilled chicken strips which made it super fast and easy. I think the grilled chicken gives it a nice flavor. I served over brown rice. This is definately going in my recipe box and I plan to make again that next time my daughters come to town. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Sauteed onions and celery in olive oil. After a few minutes, added mushrooms. Used red wine as no white open (thinking coq au vin). Tossed in a bag of frozen, grilled chicken strips and heated through. Finally added celery soup, sour cream, and some TJ's Everyday Seasoning. Served over rice. This was quick and satisfying. It would be a perfect meal to take to someone who hasn't been feeling well, to a family with small children, or to an elderly neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This tasted just fine with me, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The flavor of this dish turned out to be quite nice, and it was a pleasant change from other recipes. I took the advice of other cooks and cooked it uncovered so that it wouldn't turn into a "soup." I'm very glad I did that. I also followed advice to brown the chicken first, then reduce the cooking time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
did this recipe in the crock pot...other than having too much sauce per chicken it was a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Little bland for my taste but the fam loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Yum - this is like a chicken version of beef stroganoff - love the sour cream. I didn't change it except I followed the advice of many reviewers and cooked it uncovered so as not to make it soupy. Served it over rice - very nice for a "casserole" - even my casserole-hating husband ate this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I browned the breasts in my George Forman grill first for a little extra color and flavor, and then I cut the cooking time down to 45 minutes. It was enjoyed by the whole family and was easy to do after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertBorn54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I saw Nicolette's review & I have most of a rotissirie chicken left over from lunch a couple of days ago, so I copied her idea of adapting this to a freezer meal. I used baby portobellos & did not slice them, omitted the celery (was out), doubled the soup & wine (adding a bit extra), added about half a cup of chicken broth, used chopped roasted garlic for the powdered & added about half a cup of sliced shallots. I was also out of sour cream so I subbed 4 oz. of room-temp nuefatchel. I sauteed the mushrooms, then added the bell pepper & then added the shallots. Deglazed the pan w/ wine & added the soup & liquids, allowing it to simmer for a few minutes. Then I added the neufatchel; mixed well & added the chopped chicken. Had some for lunch on top of egg noodles & froze the rest. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
In a pinch for 'freezer friendly' meals, but not fond of canned cream-of recipes, I found this to be a good base recipe -- better, though, if enhanced. To save some time, I made this on the stovetop by browning the seasoned chicken with the mushrooms, celery, pepper, minced garlic and chopped onion. Then I just plunked in the sauce ingredients (probably added a touch more wine to thin) and adjusted the seasonings to taste. When defrosted and reheated, this can be served over egg noodles or rice. Easy and filling... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States