Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
Instructions were not really clear for a first timer. Bouillon mixture I assumed was the chicken broth. Marjoram was not listed but directions made it sound like a necessity when you have only a printed copy instead of online view where it said marjoram can be substituted so it was not known.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Exactly what I was looking for! Tastes just like what Grandma makes except that this is an actual recipe, whereas Grandma adds a "little of this and a pinch of that" :) I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDILYN66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great recipe for homemade stuffing! I cut this back to 8 servings and used 1 egg and eyeballed the herbs adding a bit of marjoram. This was a nice alternative to mashed potoates for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Good basic recipe.I used Italian seasoning (3/4 teaspoon) it has all 3 ingredients. No measurement for the Marjoram.Turned out quite well, no leftovers.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BE-O-BE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Very good. Moist and flavorful without being overpowering. Got many good comments from the family. The amount is generous and it expanded in the turkey quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This recipe was a big hit! I made it for Easter dinner and it complimented my ham very well. I changed the serving size to 8 and I also used rubbed sage in addition to ground sage and added in marjoram and thyme for more flavor. I used 1 can of chicken broth and baked it a little longer so the top would be crispy. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I would give this 4.75 stars if I could. I accidentally added 1 tablespoon of fresh pepper, instead of 1 teaspoon. I also added all 3 cups of chicken bouillon. Next time I will use less salt, the buillion was salty enough as is. Wonderful recipe and I love that it doesn't have any sausage meat. This will definately become my standard stuffing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Wow, I made great stuffing!! This was delicious and will be a regular family sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I was never much of a stuffing fan until I tried this recipe. Let me also say, I generally dislike celery, so don't let the name of this throw ya. However, I've made this stuffing 6 or 7 times now, including for Thanksgiving, and just love it. I rate it 4 stars as-is. However, I have made some adjustments to suit my tastes. I increase the seasonings to 1/2 tsp sage (plus a light sprinkle on top too) and 1/8 tsp of thyme which I crush between my fingers while adding. I also only use 2 eggs (which seems not enough when you first pour it over the dry bread cubes, but once the broth is added, it works fine). Oh, and I drop the salt down to 1 tsp, never even tried it with 1T, just seems it would be too salty with the broth and butter, especially if you tend to ladle gravy over it on your plate. Anyway, with these modifications, I give it 5 stars! I keep forgetting to try the marjoram - next time. I follow the directions for baking it outside the turkey (about 2.5 - 3 cups total broth, buttered glass baking dish with lid, 350 for 45 mins) and it comes out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe! Very happy to have found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Fantastic! I'm never making stuffing from a box again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States