Celery Smashers with Cream Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Excellent recipe - the celery and onion added even more flavor than I thought they would (although I did make the recipe the night before and reheated it the next day while the turkey was resting, so that could account for the extra flavor throughout). The leftovers made superb potato cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend last night and he told me I was the BEST cook EVER!! I served it with oven-baked chicken tenders and the match was PERFECT!! I loved cooking this recipe as it was super easy and quick to prepare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Fabulous! This was a hit at Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This is absolutely delicious. I like to add some garlic and a little more celery and celery salt than called for to the potatoes. The gravy is just lovely - suprising how such a flavorable gravy can be made so simply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I didn't get the celery sauteed enough, so it was still a little crunchy in the potatoes, but even still, my kids who don't like mashed potatoes OR gravy, loved this and couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I only used to gravy recipe and really liked it. I added a bit more flour as we like a little thicker gravy. Served over mashed potatoes and chicken fried chicken. Also had fresh sweet corn..so good. This gravy reminds me a lot of KFC's gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEASTMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Wow is all I can say. I was looking for a different mashed potato recipe. Tonight I wanted to make meatballs so I decided to change the cream gravy slightly by using beef broth instead of chicken. I made the potatoes and then warmed the meatballs in the cream gravy. My 4 children loved the dinner and said, "you should make this every night!" So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Nobody even minded the added veggies! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This was a really tasty recipe and a great change from the ordinary mashed potatoes. I served it with grilled pork chops (using my secret of marinating the chops in chinese oyster sauce for several hours) and my husband is still talking about it!!! Thanx!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I found this recipe looking for something to do with celery hearts. Very good vegetarian meal. I just ate a bigass heap of this with some corn on the cob. The gravy is delicious and creamy, and the celery and onions give the taters a great flavor. I added some garlic and pepper to the gravy. Zang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States