Ceil's Cucumber Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Yum! Easy and good summer side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was ok, if you like cucumbers this way. Maybe should cut down on the celery seed, it was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Good but I prefer using mustard seed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I only used maybe half the sugar and they turned out great. had I used all that was called for it would have been WAY too sweet. I also took the advice that said to slice the veggies into ice water and chill the sauce. my cukes were crunchy for 48 hours after I made this and prob would have lasted longer but we ate them all up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was good. Im not too much of a vinegar fan and I think this was a little too vinegary for me. I only marinated a few hours and it was the perfect crunch without being too mushy. I wouldnt marinate the full 24 hours for sure. I probably wont be making this again, but I did enjoy trying it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I'm not a fan of cucumbers OR green peppers, but had plenty of each from my CSA basket. I searched for a recipe to use both and found this one - WOW am I glad I did!!!! This is absolutely fantastic, thanks so much for sharing! I am enjoying cukes and green peppers for the first time in my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
What a great combo of sweet and tangy! Cucumbers, onions and green peppers are terrific together. I'll give a tip o' the hat to "potato_lady" for the following advice- it seemed to work well: "Make the marinade and put in fridge until totally chilled. slice the veggies into ice water and put in fridge. when marinade is chilled, drain veggies well. toss with marinade, and chill for at least 12 hours. your cukes will not get mushy. the longer they stay in the marinade, the better they taste". To cut back on sugar I may try with Splenda. Maybe a little research.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greggksmith
Home Town: Terrace Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made these a few day ago to use some of the cucumbers out of my garden. Sooooo yummy and so easy. I will be making these all season long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was delish! Used smaller portions of veggies so reduced sugar and vinegar to 3/4 cup each, was perfect. Also omitted celery seed as I didn't have any. Sliced peppers, onions n cukes into salted ice water while cooking the vinegar mixture, then simply strained and mixed. They've been in the fridge 8 hrs now and are sooo good, I can't keep out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I altered the recipe a bit to suit what I had, but it was excellent. Tastes like bread and butter pickles. I scaled the recipe down because I didn't have that much cucumber. I didn't have celery seed, so I used celery salt instead of the salt, and used less than called for (we are watching our sodium intake). I used mustard seed for the look and texture. I used vidalia onion, and put in quite a bit extra. I also didn't cook it - I just mixed it all together until well blended in a bowl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States