Cedar Planked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I just made this last night and it was absolutely fantastic! I didn't have green onions so I used minced red onion. My in-laws were so impressed they wanted to have a plank to take home! Costco has them for $8 for a package of 6. The package on the plank states that if it's not too charred you can use is again after cleaning with warm water and letting it air dry. Also, to save time, planks can be presoaked and frozen. I can't encourage you enough to try this incredible recipe! Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PandA1366
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My boyfriend said this was the best piece of fish he's ever had! I soaked the cedar for about 7 hours then oiled one side. I used a 2.5 lb piece of salmon skin side down. I heated the plank and then put the fish on for 20 minutes, then turned off the heat and kept it on the grill for about 5 more minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandA1366

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Outstanding recipe! I ended up doing in the oven at 350 due to heavy rain. It was still delicious. I highly recommend making this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
There is nothing better in Seattle than cedar planked salmon - unless it is Copper River Cedar planked Salmon. I usually just use olive oil, salt,pepper and dill and people who've never experienced planked fish can't get over the "fabulous" seasoning. Do soak the planks as long as you can 4 to 24 hours - mine always catch on fire. Makes for a spectacular presentation though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Being an Alaska resident I'm very picky about my salmon. This recipe was excellet. My 2 year old have 5 helpings!! I soaked my cedar plank in hot water for 4 hours and it didn't catch fire like others stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhusbandswife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
The 1/3 cup of soy sauce, I reducted down 1 1/2 table spoons. That made it less salty and kept the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Its only my wife and I.....Cut all things.....Tried to devide it up........Worked perfect........I got my planks at BB& B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I tried this on Red Oak planks and with both Salmon (with skin) and Halibut. Salmon had the most flavor while Halibut had a very delicate texture. Kids liked Salmon better, husband preferred Halibut. Neither Salmon nor Halibut soaked too much of the sauce - the sauce remained more on the outside. The plank didn't omit too much smoky flavor - didn't actually smoke at all on our Webber gas grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuceeSprouts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Delicious!!! Made it for Christmas dinner with three picky eaters...made fish-eaters of them all. I soaked the cedar plank for over 24 hrs...and I used my GE roaster oven. There was no smoke issues and the salmon was utterly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I had 3 large pieces of salmon, so I doubled the sauce and ended marinating over 1.5 hrs. It was so amazing, moist, flavorful, and makes a lovely presentation. I followed the recipe exactly and will make again and again and again (please know I am not a huge salmon fan, prefer catching over eating - but this recipe made all the difference.) Highly recommend! My planks did catch fire, so I have to work on a better solution for that issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Valentine’s Salmon

Make a romantic baked salmon dinner for your Valentine.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States