Cedar Planked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Had it tonight. Wonderful! Being on a heathy kick I substituted Coconut oil for the vegetable oil, Coconut aminos (which you can get at a health food grocery store) for the soy sauce, and brushed olive oil on the wood before putting the salmon on. Make sure the wood is soaked for at least 24 hours, because I have had the wood burn before when it's not soaked enough. When it's really soaked, it smokes a lot. Yum! Also start checking it at 15 mins. so you don't overcook and burn it. My husband really liked it and he doesn't like salmon too much. I and my son loved it and he said it was a keeper! Next time I think I'll add some mushrooms, green onions, and sundried tomatoes on top while cooking. This will be cooked many times. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Confession: I don't like fish. I don't eat fish. Needless to say, I don't cook fish. But my husband and son LOVE fish, so I thought I'd be generous and try cooking something for them. I picked this recipe for my first attempt. Result: Husband and son were THRILLED! I was pleased with how fast and easy it was. I even had a little taste of the salmon and it was very flavorful. Two modifications: it's winter where I live, so I baked the fish instead of grilling. And, I left the skin on during cooking because it was icky to touch and everything I read said it would peel off extra easy after cooking, which it did. I will be making this again. And again. And my family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Amazing, I made it on the plank in the oven as well , turned out delirious, was a huge hit at a big get together I had. I roasted it at 450. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love cedar plank salmon. My tips: don't soak the wood, it will smoke more dry. If you are really brave, leave the skin on and cook it on the plank, them right before its done, take it off and crisp the skin directly on the grates. Also, make sure you use good salmon, i'm not a fan of atlantic farmed salmon (weird texture, fishy flavor) or pink salmon. make sure you use some wild caught king or coho to really get the most out of it. Spendy, but well worth it. if you find yourself not liking salmon my guess is you haven't had fresh wild caught King or Coho salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natenut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This Cedar Planked Salmon is a keeper. I have made it several times and usually add double the fresh ginger! I have also made with fresh rainbow trout fillets, just as good! Highly Rcommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I frequently prepare salmon grilled on a cedar plank. I was looking for some new marinade options when I came across this recipe and it sounded delicious. I prepared exactly as written, and unfortunately found that it lacked the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Excellent - I took another reviewers advice and reduced the amount of soy sauce to around 1/6 a cup. The flavors were fantastic with a very light smoke taste. We ate the leftovers the next day and they were almost as good as the first time. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My husband said "MMM - this tastes expensive" which is very much a compliment. I didn't have sesame seed oil so added a tablespoon of roasted sesame seeds and used chopped purple onion instead of green onions and a little cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Home Town: Rimbey, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I literally coukdnt eat it. The flavor was flat and boring. The sauce resembles a teriyaki base but it had no sugar...sauce smelled like a can of open sardines. The cedar came thru but not enough to disguise the missing taste. Dissaponted. Shouldve gone with my instinct n only test a serving before marinating all my salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
There seemed to be a fine line between the salmon being undercooked and the planks catching fire. I soaked them for 6 hours, and yet they burst into flames after 10 minutes on the bbq. Next time, will watch them closely and will have a glass of water nearby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Valentine’s Salmon

Make a romantic baked salmon dinner for your Valentine.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States