Cedar Planked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Super easy and so good! I made this when we had friends over and everyone loved it. Changes I made were: I always use olive oil, instead of vegetable oil; I used red wine vinegar b/c that's what I had and also added red pepper flakes. I poured it all on the salmon and massaged the oil mixture in. I can't speak to the grilling process since my boyfriend did it but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I prepared this last night out on the deck (in-between thunder showers). I used Scottish salmon and the fish was succulent with incredible flavors – I had no idea this slightly different way of BBQing could make such a remarkable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This recipe is a keeper. Made it many times now - no changes, 100% good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Amazing! Hubby and teenage daughter raved. It was so moist and flavorful. The only change I made was to add a large squirt of honey to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Great marinade. I substituted out the sesame oil because I didn't have any and added a little extra garlic. Used reduced sodium soy sauce. Used a little of the marinade as a sauce by reducing it and adding a little sriracha for heat. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I have prepared grilled salmon on a cedar plank many times in the past and was in search of a new marinade. I thought this recipe was okay - it did not really penetrate throughout the salmon. I used fresh salmon and marinated for over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My older 2 adult son's love cedar plank salmon:) This is by far the best one I ever made:) My son's devoured it all up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I'm clearly the minority here, but I wasn't really a fan. I soaked my cedar plank for about 1.5 hours, which wasn't enough time because it caught on fire half way through cooking. Awesome (not really). I finished the salmon in the oven, and after all the hassle, it wasn't even that great. Too salty (despite using low sodium soy sauce). I love salmon and I'll be sticking with my old cedar plank salmon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Tried this last night and it came out perfect! I increase minced garlic from 1 teaspoon to 1/2 cup and replace green onion with chives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Let me first start off by saying I do not care for Salmon. My husband really enjoys Salmon so I was trying to find a recipe that I could prepare at home. Per other reviewer comments I soaked the plank 3+ hours and allowed it to drip dry slightly before placing it on the grill. Please note while at costco picking up the planks they where sampling a pineapple habanero glaze for fish so I picked up a bottle. I marinated the salmon according to the recipe and grilled as indicated. The only change I made was to brush some of the pineapple habanero glaze on the salmon just before serving. WOW! I actually ate some of the salmon and liked it. My family was shocked. It was such a hit we made it again a week later. The second time my husband was rushing and didn't allow the plank to drip dry slightly before placing it on the gill and there was a lot more smoke and ceder flavor. A bit too intense. Still good but a little strong. We will continue to use this recipe but I will make sure the the planks have a couple of minutes to dry before placing on the grill. I am rating this a 4 star as the glaze gives it a little kick and adds that extra something. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Valentine’s Salmon

Make a romantic baked salmon dinner for your Valentine.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States