Cedar Planked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My husband said "MMM - this tastes expensive" which is very much a compliment. I didn't have sesame seed oil so added a tablespoon of roasted sesame seeds and used chopped purple onion instead of green onions and a little cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Home Town: Rimbey, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I literally coukdnt eat it. The flavor was flat and boring. The sauce resembles a teriyaki base but it had no sugar...sauce smelled like a can of open sardines. The cedar came thru but not enough to disguise the missing taste. Dissaponted. Shouldve gone with my instinct n only test a serving before marinating all my salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
There seemed to be a fine line between the salmon being undercooked and the planks catching fire. I soaked them for 6 hours, and yet they burst into flames after 10 minutes on the bbq. Next time, will watch them closely and will have a glass of water nearby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Soaked the planks for almost 24 hours, baked them at 350 for 10 minutes, then added the salmon for 25 minutes. Rave reviews from family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Awesome! I forgot the sesame oil, but it was still fantastic anyway. I soaked my plank for 6 hours and my salmon only needed about 12 minutes on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Ohmygosh this was so good! I used peanut oil for the vegetable oil, doubled the garlic (because I love it) and added a little crushed red pepper for some spice. Soaked my plank for two hours and it did catch on fire towards the end, but it made for a nice crispy glaze on the fish. Served with broccoli and carrot fried rice. We could not get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blebernak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We have made this several times and love it! We have used different types of minced onion and used ginger powder instead of fresh and it still was great. We don't care for sweet coatings on salmon, so this is perfect it is salty and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great recipe! We live in alaska and have had all kinds of delicious fish. This is a great recipe if you have picky eaters! The fresher the fish the better! But I understand not everyone is able to have it fresh like we do. Marinate fish for at VERY least 15 min.. Really 30-1hr works best! Easy for this novice cook! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Oh my! I eat a LOT of salmon and have made it numerous ways but I'm always needing to vary the recipes to keep from getting bored. I've made other cedar plank salmon recipes before as well. HOWEVER - this is THE best Salmon recipe I have ever had! I was skeptical adding the Sesame oil, I didn't think the marinade smelled good but oh I was so thrilled with the taste. This is company worthy also. Just fantastic as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Valentine’s Salmon

Make a romantic baked salmon dinner for your Valentine.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States