CCRyder's Smoker Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have to admit: nutmeg and allspice in a rid rub made me skeptical of the whole thing. I keep trying different rubs on my back ribs and enjoy my ribs without sauce. Rub only with that perfect caramelized layer on top of the most tender meat. I have never written a review before and registered only to do so for this rub. My search is over. Best rub ever, I intend to find the specialized powders for the next batch. Could it possibly get better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
even though I was not able to find some of the more exotic ingredients (hungarian paprika and the special chile powders), I substituted reggula paprika and chile powder and it was tasty. Also halved the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Used this rub then smoked the meat, very flavorful and Spicy Hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is my "go to" rub! I even keep it made up in my refrigerator. Usually rub down my baby back ribs and let them sit in refer overnight. I bake (tightly covered with foil) on a rack at 300 degrees for 2-2-1/2 hours. After cooling I grill using your favorite BBQ sauce. Meat falls off the bones - these are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Impressive mixture of flavours, this one hits all the right notes. I will caution any newbie 'rub'-ers out there: 1) Using table salt is a no-no - the coarse salt used in the recipe should be measured. Substituting the same amount of fine table salt will leave you with an unpleasantly salty rub. 2) If you are not smoking, then as a bare minimum, slow cook for at least 4 hours with this rub. I tried the first batch for 3 hours in a slow oven and the pepper was still overwhelming. Another hour and the heat seemed to 'melt' into the other flavours. 3) Another good reason to go slow (4+ hours) with this rub is it will force you go 'low' in terms of temperature. This rub has a lot of sugar and will burn at higher temperatures. As an inexperienced bbq'r from up north, i gotta say this recipe got me rave reviews. It was well worth fiddling with the timing to get a smokerless version that worked in my slow-cooker/oven. God Bless America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
this was wonderful! i made extra so i can have it on hand the next time i need it! a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Oh Yeah, this is THE rub! Make sure you mortar and pestle it before using to crush some of the spices and make them refreshed! AND ya gotta remove the membrane on the back of the babybacks or the flavor won't get to the back of the rib. I use a needle-nose pliers (clean well before and after!). I wash the ribs, and dry them well before applying rub, cover with saran wrap and let sit in the frig for 24-48 hours before smoking. Take a gander at my finished photo. Beautiful! I use a great dipping sauce made from Trader Joe's Sweet and Smoky Sauce, Frank's Red Hot Sauce and Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce; each guest gets a warmed bowl of sauce to dip as needed, but sauce is NOT necessary! We smoked the ribs for about 4.5 hours, we do not like it to fall off the bone, but be more firm. You can also use this rub for a full pork tenderloin and smoke it...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a good rub and doesn't have to be exact when measured. But the nutmeg I will leave out next time, just had an aftertaste that didn't sit well with ribs....Omit the nutmeg and you will really enjoy this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Excellent. Wonderful flavour, and now the only rub we use! I haven't used a smoker, but it works well cooked slowly in the oven covered with foil, and adding a touch of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
The chili and cumin added a taste we didn't care for and it was very dominant. If to use again would not add these ingredients for our taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Herb Salt

A simple, savory finishing salt that’s also an inexpensive gift idea.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States