CCRyder's Smoker Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Now, when I made this, I didn't have the cumin, nutmeg or allspice, but my husband LOVED it! He made me make again the next day! And the week after! In fact, I making it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soundviolio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
o my GOODNESS!!!! I cannot find enough words to sing the praises of this rib rub but let me try...I live in KC-the BBQ mecca of the nation-this is by far the best rub I've tried to date. It will replace my Oklahoma Joe's rib rub from now on. Thank you CCRyder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Loved the flavors of nutmeg, allspice, and all the rest. Delicious! After the ribs were in our smoker for a couple hours I started brushing on a mixture of 1 cup apple cider, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I have used this recipe for years. excellent... just as it is! on baby backs, spare, and st louis ribs, pork shoulder, fresh ham, beef ribs, bison, chicken, turkey and even game. it's goes well with it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I just made ribs today with this rub and they were amazing! It was my first time smoking ribs and I'm still new to using the smoker but it was perfect. I rubbed the ribs, refigerated for about 4 hrs, let them come to room temp before putting them in smoker. Smoked at 330 F for 3 hrs then wrapped in foil and cooked another hour then let them sit in the foil for 10 mins or so before opening them. I don't know if it did anything but I added a bit of raspberry vinegar to the pan of water in the smoker since I've read to use apple cider vinegar to tenderize and didn't have any. Thanks for this rub recipe. I will be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I've used this rub several times now on smoked pork butt roasts, and smoked whole chickens. It's important to rub the meat generously with this blend the night before as the directions say. For chicken or turkey rub the inside as well. I think every ingredient is a perfect match for pork and poultry. I've smoked the butts for as long as 17 hours @250 °F, and chickens for 7 hours on average with no problems of burning or bitterness. I appreciate that CCRyder81 shared this great recipe with us…thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is my "go to" rub for all pork I smoke - ribs, butt and shoulder. Rub the meat, wrap in plastic and put into the refrigerator overnight. Smoke the next day and you'll have great tasting meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This recipe made quite a bit of rub, I have used this on ribs, chicken breast, and a whole chicken. The mix of flavors is great! Another reviewer was spot on about using much less regular salt if you don't have sea salt. I used 1/4 cup table salt, but next time I make this I will most likely only use 2-3 tablespoons. If you are basting the meat with prepared BBQ sauce near the end, this will add even more salt. I thought the heat was just right, spicy but definitely not too hot. On another note, I did not have allspice or nutmeg. Based on substitutions I found on the internet, I used 1/2 Tbsp Ginger and 1/2 Tbsp Cinnamon. I thought it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twt75nc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have to admit: nutmeg and allspice in a rid rub made me skeptical of the whole thing. I keep trying different rubs on my back ribs and enjoy my ribs without sauce. Rub only with that perfect caramelized layer on top of the most tender meat. I have never written a review before and registered only to do so for this rub. My search is over. Best rub ever, I intend to find the specialized powders for the next batch. Could it possibly get better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
even though I was not able to find some of the more exotic ingredients (hungarian paprika and the special chile powders), I substituted reggula paprika and chile powder and it was tasty. Also halved the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Homemade Herb Salt

A simple, savory finishing salt that’s also an inexpensive gift idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States