CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday for my New Year's Day dinner. I could only give it three stars--and I am being generous here--because the peas were not done, even after continued cooking for two extra hours. By the time the peas were done, the tomatoes and other ingredients were overcooked. Shouldn't the peas be soaked for at least three hours or so beforehand? I definitely think this recipe is a winner and a keeper. And I am going to make it again...after I find out/figure out how to fully cook the peas. When that happens, I will give it the full five-star rating that it so rightfully deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledareya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Netarts, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just made this for New Year's Day and it's great. I made a couple of changes - I left out the fresh jalapeno and instead added a can of Original Rotel (still used 1 can diced tomatoes, too), and I added some chopped up ham. Cut up and then cooked the bacon in the microwave, less mess than a skillet. I put it in at 11:30pm and it cooked on low for 12 hours, the beans are the perfect tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This made a great New Year's Day dish, but would work well any time of year. I added the "rest of the bacon" and used a large can of diced tomatoes. The taste is great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Did not slow cook! ...Best peas ever after 3 days. My objective was more like a BEP soup of sorts. Did not want the peas to turn to mush. I was concerned about that with the leftovers if I slow cooked it. User the base recipe but here's my modifications - Soaked peas overnight, drained. Begin on the stove top w/ a dutch oven or big pot. Used leftover spiral ham from Turkeyday instead of bacon. 8c water, can of chicken stock, cut up jalapeno nacho slices, can of fire roasted tomatoes (held off on these till after the boil), and tyme in addtion to garlic and chili powder. Brought to boil, and then low simmer for 2-3 hours. The first day it did need a little minor seasoning w/ salt & pepper, but it had a little zip to it. 2nd day was really good. Finished the last bowl today and was wishing I have a 2nd bowl. Served with fresh cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I didn't have chili powder but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabinas Hidalgo, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I've used this recipe with a minor change. I also added two smoked ham hocks in it. I did not use a slow cooker, but cooked it on the stove. I also added thyme! I let it cook for about 2 1/2 hours on a low simmer! Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe is phenomenal! To me, it is not the recipe provider's responsibility to teach people how to cook, but solely to share a great recipe with directions of how to prepare it. A person should already know how to soak and clean the peas before attempting a dish like this. I used spicy hot link sausages instead of bacon to flavor the peas, but next time I will try bacon as instructed. Also, I had jarred jalapeno's, so I chopped a few and threw them in. Since I am a fan of spiciness, I also added tobasco sauce which made for a great, highly flavored reddish colored juice along with the stewed tomatos for the peas to soak the flavor of. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Overall this was really good. However, if I had followed the recipe exactly the beans wouldn't have been ready in time for dinner--I even soaked them overnight, and it still took six hours in the slow cooker on high for them to be done. I also added a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Cooked this today for a new years day lunch pot luck entry. Every one loved it. I didn't use the jalapeno because some people (not me) in my family don't like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IT Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! I make Black Eyed Peas every year for New Year's Day and this was by far better than what I usually do. I think this recipe will become a New Year's tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States