CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
excellent! Much bette than the orginal recipe I always used before! Very spicey, but I like it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This made a great New Year's Day dish, but would work well any time of year. I added the "rest of the bacon" and used a large can of diced tomatoes. The taste is great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was really tasty and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe for 1st time pea cookers. The peas were nicely done and had a very nice aroma. Instead of the diced tomatoes I used a 8oz can of roasted garlic tomato sauce and it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just made this for New Year's Day and it's great. I made a couple of changes - I left out the fresh jalapeno and instead added a can of Original Rotel (still used 1 can diced tomatoes, too), and I added some chopped up ham. Cut up and then cooked the bacon in the microwave, less mess than a skillet. I put it in at 11:30pm and it cooked on low for 12 hours, the beans are the perfect tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!! I have used it (with small changes) to cook dried black eyed peas and now dried cranberry beans!! So good! Next, kidney beans. I used a 3 qt. sauce pan to brown 2 slices of bacon. That helps the splatter problem. Added the onion before the bacon was done. Used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, garlic and chili powders, no jalapeno. The peas did fine without soaking but I quick soaked the beans per the bag directions. Slow cooked on High about 2 hours, then Low about 4. So much flavor!! With cornbread, a meal in itself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Used the cooking method only with this recipe, combined with Tam's recipe on here. Happy New Year and thanks CB! I cooked longer, overnight in the crockpot. Put peas in about 9pm and they were done this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent - made with large can of Rotel instead of small can of tomatoes and jalepeno. Cooked Six hours. Added half can of beef consommé and half can water at about three hours cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heathercfsps
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Every year we eat black eyed peas on New Years Day....and every year they are sooooo boring and difficult to choke down....EXCEPT this year!!!! YUM YUM YUM! I made a few adjustments, but the basic recipe for this was amazing. I used a lot of bacon, canned black eyed peas, green chilies and some red chili paste. Other than those modifications, and I made enough for a double batch......this recipe is worth keeping and I will now make these for my family throughout the year and not just on New Years...thanks to cbjc for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
i followed this recipe almost to the letter. i didnt use tomatoes, instead i used a whole chopped red pepper and i added 1 cup of diced ham and increased the seasonings a little bit. i cooked this overnight to eat the next day. this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States