CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This made a great New Year's Day dish, but would work well any time of year. I added the "rest of the bacon" and used a large can of diced tomatoes. The taste is great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday for my New Year's Day dinner. I could only give it three stars--and I am being generous here--because the peas were not done, even after continued cooking for two extra hours. By the time the peas were done, the tomatoes and other ingredients were overcooked. Shouldn't the peas be soaked for at least three hours or so beforehand? I definitely think this recipe is a winner and a keeper. And I am going to make it again...after I find out/figure out how to fully cook the peas. When that happens, I will give it the full five-star rating that it so rightfully deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledareya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Netarts, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was really tasty and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe for 1st time pea cookers. The peas were nicely done and had a very nice aroma. Instead of the diced tomatoes I used a 8oz can of roasted garlic tomato sauce and it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I've been cooking for many, many years, so rarely can I not find some way to salvage a recipe. FYI, you will have to cook the peas at least 5 hours on high in order for them to get done. Even so, this recipe is simply not good, in my humble opinion. I'm glad that some people liked it, but I found it to be bland slop that I promptly flushed down the garbage disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I've used this recipe with a minor change. I also added two smoked ham hocks in it. I did not use a slow cooker, but cooked it on the stove. I also added thyme! I let it cook for about 2 1/2 hours on a low simmer! Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Did not slow cook! ...Best peas ever after 3 days. My objective was more like a BEP soup of sorts. Did not want the peas to turn to mush. I was concerned about that with the leftovers if I slow cooked it. User the base recipe but here's my modifications - Soaked peas overnight, drained. Begin on the stove top w/ a dutch oven or big pot. Used leftover spiral ham from Turkeyday instead of bacon. 8c water, can of chicken stock, cut up jalapeno nacho slices, can of fire roasted tomatoes (held off on these till after the boil), and tyme in addtion to garlic and chili powder. Brought to boil, and then low simmer for 2-3 hours. The first day it did need a little minor seasoning w/ salt & pepper, but it had a little zip to it. 2nd day was really good. Finished the last bowl today and was wishing I have a 2nd bowl. Served with fresh cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I didn't have chili powder but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabinas Hidalgo, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just made this for New Year's Day and it's great. I made a couple of changes - I left out the fresh jalapeno and instead added a can of Original Rotel (still used 1 can diced tomatoes, too), and I added some chopped up ham. Cut up and then cooked the bacon in the microwave, less mess than a skillet. I put it in at 11:30pm and it cooked on low for 12 hours, the beans are the perfect tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
excellent! Much bette than the orginal recipe I always used before! Very spicey, but I like it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States