CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!! I have used it (with small changes) to cook dried black eyed peas and now dried cranberry beans!! So good! Next, kidney beans. I used a 3 qt. sauce pan to brown 2 slices of bacon. That helps the splatter problem. Added the onion before the bacon was done. Used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, garlic and chili powders, no jalapeno. The peas did fine without soaking but I quick soaked the beans per the bag directions. Slow cooked on High about 2 hours, then Low about 4. So much flavor!! With cornbread, a meal in itself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Overall this was really good. However, if I had followed the recipe exactly the beans wouldn't have been ready in time for dinner--I even soaked them overnight, and it still took six hours in the slow cooker on high for them to be done. I also added a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this a little differently because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used chopped sun dried tomatoes and cumin because I didn't have the canned tomatoes and chili powder (how did that happen?!), but it turned out great, especially the next day when the flavors melded. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Cooked this today for a new years day lunch pot luck entry. Every one loved it. I didn't use the jalapeno because some people (not me) in my family don't like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IT Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! I make Black Eyed Peas every year for New Year's Day and this was by far better than what I usually do. I think this recipe will become a New Year's tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Didn't bother to use a slow cooker, just used canned peas and simmered for 10-15 minutes. Real tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairmanmeow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
excellent! Much bette than the orginal recipe I always used before! Very spicey, but I like it like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just made this for New Year's Day and it's great. I made a couple of changes - I left out the fresh jalapeno and instead added a can of Original Rotel (still used 1 can diced tomatoes, too), and I added some chopped up ham. Cut up and then cooked the bacon in the microwave, less mess than a skillet. I put it in at 11:30pm and it cooked on low for 12 hours, the beans are the perfect tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I didn't have chili powder but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabinas Hidalgo, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Did not slow cook! ...Best peas ever after 3 days. My objective was more like a BEP soup of sorts. Did not want the peas to turn to mush. I was concerned about that with the leftovers if I slow cooked it. User the base recipe but here's my modifications - Soaked peas overnight, drained. Begin on the stove top w/ a dutch oven or big pot. Used leftover spiral ham from Turkeyday instead of bacon. 8c water, can of chicken stock, cut up jalapeno nacho slices, can of fire roasted tomatoes (held off on these till after the boil), and tyme in addtion to garlic and chili powder. Brought to boil, and then low simmer for 2-3 hours. The first day it did need a little minor seasoning w/ salt & pepper, but it had a little zip to it. 2nd day was really good. Finished the last bowl today and was wishing I have a 2nd bowl. Served with fresh cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States