CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not season enough for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
i followed this recipe almost to the letter. i didnt use tomatoes, instead i used a whole chopped red pepper and i added 1 cup of diced ham and increased the seasonings a little bit. i cooked this overnight to eat the next day. this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heathercfsps
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Every year we eat black eyed peas on New Years Day....and every year they are sooooo boring and difficult to choke down....EXCEPT this year!!!! YUM YUM YUM! I made a few adjustments, but the basic recipe for this was amazing. I used a lot of bacon, canned black eyed peas, green chilies and some red chili paste. Other than those modifications, and I made enough for a double batch......this recipe is worth keeping and I will now make these for my family throughout the year and not just on New Years...thanks to cbjc for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent - made with large can of Rotel instead of small can of tomatoes and jalepeno. Cooked Six hours. Added half can of beef consommé and half can water at about three hours cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Used the cooking method only with this recipe, combined with Tam's recipe on here. Happy New Year and thanks CB! I cooked longer, overnight in the crockpot. Put peas in about 9pm and they were done this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!! I have used it (with small changes) to cook dried black eyed peas and now dried cranberry beans!! So good! Next, kidney beans. I used a 3 qt. sauce pan to brown 2 slices of bacon. That helps the splatter problem. Added the onion before the bacon was done. Used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, garlic and chili powders, no jalapeno. The peas did fine without soaking but I quick soaked the beans per the bag directions. Slow cooked on High about 2 hours, then Low about 4. So much flavor!! With cornbread, a meal in itself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Overall this was really good. However, if I had followed the recipe exactly the beans wouldn't have been ready in time for dinner--I even soaked them overnight, and it still took six hours in the slow cooker on high for them to be done. I also added a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this a little differently because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used chopped sun dried tomatoes and cumin because I didn't have the canned tomatoes and chili powder (how did that happen?!), but it turned out great, especially the next day when the flavors melded. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Cooked this today for a new years day lunch pot luck entry. Every one loved it. I didn't use the jalapeno because some people (not me) in my family don't like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IT Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! I make Black Eyed Peas every year for New Year's Day and this was by far better than what I usually do. I think this recipe will become a New Year's tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States