CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I only made a couple of changes I cooked the onions garlic and Jalepeno in the bacon grease before I added them and I used fresh black eyed peas. Turned out great bettere the second day. Jus t give yourself plenty of time it takes a while for those things to get soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome! I added a bag of fresh collard greens and a can of Rotel b/c I didnt have jalapeno on hand. It took a long time (8+ hrs) for my black eyed peas to cook even though I soaked them but I have read that the cooking time for BEPs can vary depending on the age of the dried beans. Also, I have read that adding salt and acid (both present in canned tomatoes) can increase cooking time. So, when I make this again I am going to try to cook the beans alone for a few hours before adding the other ingredients. But seriously, this recipes is worth a couple practice runs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not season enough for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
i followed this recipe almost to the letter. i didnt use tomatoes, instead i used a whole chopped red pepper and i added 1 cup of diced ham and increased the seasonings a little bit. i cooked this overnight to eat the next day. this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heathercfsps
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Every year we eat black eyed peas on New Years Day....and every year they are sooooo boring and difficult to choke down....EXCEPT this year!!!! YUM YUM YUM! I made a few adjustments, but the basic recipe for this was amazing. I used a lot of bacon, canned black eyed peas, green chilies and some red chili paste. Other than those modifications, and I made enough for a double batch......this recipe is worth keeping and I will now make these for my family throughout the year and not just on New Years...thanks to cbjc for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent - made with large can of Rotel instead of small can of tomatoes and jalepeno. Cooked Six hours. Added half can of beef consommé and half can water at about three hours cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Used the cooking method only with this recipe, combined with Tam's recipe on here. Happy New Year and thanks CB! I cooked longer, overnight in the crockpot. Put peas in about 9pm and they were done this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I love this recipe!! I have used it (with small changes) to cook dried black eyed peas and now dried cranberry beans!! So good! Next, kidney beans. I used a 3 qt. sauce pan to brown 2 slices of bacon. That helps the splatter problem. Added the onion before the bacon was done. Used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, garlic and chili powders, no jalapeno. The peas did fine without soaking but I quick soaked the beans per the bag directions. Slow cooked on High about 2 hours, then Low about 4. So much flavor!! With cornbread, a meal in itself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Overall this was really good. However, if I had followed the recipe exactly the beans wouldn't have been ready in time for dinner--I even soaked them overnight, and it still took six hours in the slow cooker on high for them to be done. I also added a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this a little differently because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used chopped sun dried tomatoes and cumin because I didn't have the canned tomatoes and chili powder (how did that happen?!), but it turned out great, especially the next day when the flavors melded. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States