CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I loved it as a great base! It would have been fine just like it is yet I knew when I read it that is was perfect to add a few of my favorites. I tweeked it so I will share what I did in a new recipe. Using canned black eyed peas makes this recipe go a little faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe but did agree hat it took longer, around 5 hrs with dried peas. They were worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carla nation
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I added andouille sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I simmered this in a stock pot since I don't have a slow cooker. I used Anaheim peppers instead of jalapeno because I had a lot of garden peppers to use up. I also used the equivalent amount of a different type of bacon. I soaked the peas the night before, which may not be necessary but its usually what I do. I would like to try this sometime with red beans or pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by della206

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Of course I knew to soak. So I soaked in crock pot for 2hrs and cooked for 4. Total 6hours on low. Made with salted pork. Everything else the same. While family ate and loved. That's rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Winter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My family LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
These were the best blackeyed peas I have ever had. very flavorful and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are the most delicious black eyed peas I've ever had, and I'm a Southern girl who grew up eating BEP all my life! I only changed a few things. We had a bone and meat left over from our Christmas ham, so I didn't use bacon. But I will next time I cook this. Also, I used fresh thyme instead of dried, and added celery and bell peppers that I had left over in the fridge. I was surprised how well all the liquid cooked down! Having that amount of liquid helped to really blend all the flavor swell; and the celery, bell peppers, and onions simply disintegrated into the blend so that you don't see them, but can taste their flavoring. My husband and I adore these peas!! I'll be cooking this again in the near future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I added to this by Clean and soak the peas overnight. I also substituted water with chicken stock and instead of bacon I slow cooked with ham hocks. Seasoning was great may have added a pinch more is so of each to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good! Will make again! Add more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States