Cawl (Traditional Welsh Broth) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Very tasty & hearty soup. I wasn't sure how the "boys" would like rutabaga in soup, but it was a big hit. I like thick & chunky soups, so this fit the bill. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My family likes to have a couple of British meals around Christmas time, since we have ancestors from England, Scotland, Wales & Ireland - so I was excited to find this recipe. I used some beef on hand instead of the shin shank and it turned out nicely. I wasn't sure how everyone would react to the rutabagas and leeks, but the whole family really liked it! Excellent recipe! I'm looking forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This is a hearty soup and is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is a good start, but the old style of Welsh cooking is very seasonal, so dont be afraid to use fresh local seasonal vegetables. I personally use Lamb Neck if i can get my hands on some from my local butchers. Best cooked late in the evening and left over night as the next day it is far better tasting. Eat with a nice crusty wholemeal roll and a good wedge of mature cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This soup is awesome. Everyone in my office raved about it. I didn't have beef shank, so I used 12 cups of beef broth made with Wyler's and added some chopped serloin. I also didn't have leeks so I used green onion. I will definatley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to handle a beef shank I bought, and loved this! It's very hearty. I think the proportions are a bit off, though. I used nearly twice the amount of meat, and could hardly taste it over what seemed to be far too much cabbage (I used one small head, as listed. I'll probably only used half of one next time). Otherwise, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
My co-worker made this and brought it in, and we all just **loved** it. I couldn't stop eating it! She used a cut-up steak instead of the shank, but it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I am a welsh girl living in the states who's favourite food in the world is Cawl. I make it a lot, my mother makes it every week even my Dadcu (grampa) who is 87 makes it often. It is very easy to make. This recipe looks fine but I prefer to use Ham and always thicken it a little at the end with 2 tblsp flour whisked with a little cold water. I love Parsnips in my cawl and my mother likes Brussel sprouts. And leftovers taste better and better each day it sits. As long as it has meat, root veggies and Leeks it's called a Cawl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerys Corbin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StarbugHayley
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delicious! I took a shortcut and braised stew-cut beef in beer for 2 hours (after searing it). Forgot the rutabaga and didn't want to return to the store, so I went without. Very nice - simple and traditional tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States