Cavatini I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This makes a ton of pasta. I swear I 1/4'd this but still ended up with a full 9x13 pan of pasta. It's a good thing we liked it and it's serving as our lunches this week! I didn't put in ground beef but instead used some chopped kielbasa. It's hard to get the pasta out of the pan in the layers, so next time I'd skip that layering step and instead just mix it all together, plus add 1 cup of water to the pasta sauce and just cook the pasta in the pan with everything else (you just have to cook it longer this way--about twice as long as the original recipe). That's the lazy way of making baked pasta and usually my go to. :) This is very meaty and cheesy. I used wheels because that is what I had on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made this for a friend and they loved it (I also snuck a bite) but her family did say they wish that there was slightly more sauce. Would definetely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Gave this a "4" ONLY because of our personal preferences (felt it needed more pasta, some garlic and the chicken was lost in the final results). But still totally enjoyable and a great base to "tweak"! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This sounded so tasty that I made enough for an army! I wasn't disappointed. I didn't change anything about the recipe other than doubling it. This is one of our new family favorites. This freezes very well and keeps the same delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colcord, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
OK, I'm the only person that didn't "RAVE" about this that ate it. I prefer less sauce and I thought the pepperoni made it a little too greasy. I think that is what made everyone love it!. Lots of meat and not too much pasta and TONS of melted cheese. Got asked to make it again and also for the recipe, so it gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is my husband's most requested item from his catering menu and this is the recipe he uses - of course he's a dumper, not a measurer - but this is his guideline. People absolutely love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Fantastic dish!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was very tasty, I thought the combination of the meats seemed very strange but to my surprise was delicious. As others said it is quite a bit of a time consuming recipe to prepare but does make a lot. The only thing I changed was I added more pasta & sauce, it just didn't seem like enough pasta for all of the meat involved & I used fresh mushrooms rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Made this for a potluck for my grandaughters basketball party, everybody loved it. Didn't change a thing. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Great, easy and tasty recipie. Has become a new family favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States