Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This is a great quick meal. Note: Aglio e Olio means "garlic and oil" and means pasta with garlic and olive oil only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I cut this recipe to 4 servings, added extra red pepper flakes, used large (not jumbo) shells, then added some pieces of Garlic Chicken at the end. A great combination! As written, we'd give this 4 stars. A good non-meat entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Wonderful dish! I too infused the oil with the pepper flakes and garlic. I also threw in onions, mushrooms and didn't blanch the broccoli, I just threw it in the garlic oil and after the pasta was done, tossed it in the pan and topped it off with parm. cheese. I paired this dish with the rotisserie chicken recipe on this site and it was just perfect since the balance of flavors (light+salty) was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Not only was this delicious, but a very FAST dish as well. It only took me about 35 minutes start to finish. I sauteed the garlic with the red pepper flakes as others suggested to make it more flavorful. What a great way to eat your broccoli. I will definitely be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Good, simple recipe. My guests & i enjoyed this. Would make this again. The only thing i didn't do from the recipe is boiled the water (for blanching and pasta) with lots of salt. Something i just am of habbit of doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I agree with majority.. Bland... secret is salt. This is an old Italian dish called Aglio e Olio. This was what they made when pantry was bare and on Fridays when Catholics couldn't eat meat. My Italians friends told me you have to add at least 1/4 cup of salt in pasta water to infuse it into pasta.. and believe me you would never know that's how much you put in but the flavor will be there and most of that is going done the drain with our water. Other than that it was tasty. I decreased the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp and put in with garlic and oil to get the full effect of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
An easy recipe but, as others have said, a bit on the bland side. I did add a bit of chicken stock to 'juice' it up a bit. Not the best, but certainly not the worst. The starchy cavatelli is a comfort food for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This IS sort of bland, but I cooked the pasta in chicken broth and added the broccoli to that the last few minutes, then added the garlic and sauteed the whole concoction before adding Romano Parmesan and red pepper. For some reason, I could not stop eating this, so-- bland or not, I thought it was pretty good!! The cheese and red pepper really add something. Plus it is sooooo simple...I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Really good. My husband loved it and so did I. Will make this one often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States