Cavatelli and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Wow! My family loved this recipe. My husband could not get enough of it. I took other's advice and made sure I added lots of salt to the pasta water and then put some pasta water into the broccoli pan with the drained pasta and cooked a few minutes longer. Great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great flavor, with a little zip! I added the red pepper flakes to the oil when adding the garlic (rather than at the end), using only 1/2 tsp., and also added italian seasoning, basil, chicken seasoning, salt and pepper to the oil. I'll definately make it again! FYI - 1 1/2 c. dry pasta is about 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This came out good, very simple and easy. I did add some heavily salted water from the pasta as suggested and more olive oil at the end, the salt definitely helps perk things up. I will make it again when I'm in a quick pinch for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers about the lack of flavor and the need for salt. I've modified this recipe by using chicken broth instead. I also heavily season the broth with fresh garlic, crushed red pepper, and black pepper. Then I blanch the broccoli (I've also used broccoli rabe; it adds a whole new depth of flavor) in the broth, followed by cooking the cavatelli in the same broth... this seems to flavor each component nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I love this recipe! IT's so simple and easy. I prefer to use butter in place of the olive oil though, using just a little olive oil is needed though so that the butter doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I wanted to like this... but... it was blah. It lacked all the flavor and dimension that it takes when you add sausage. I won't be making again - there's better recipes for this dish, which is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Very healthy. If I make this again, I won't follow the steps here. I'll just cook up some garlic and red pepper in olive oil, and toss it with cooked pasta that I've thrown broccoli into for the last 3-4 minutes of the pasta's recommended cooking time. Adding some spices, or cooking the pasta and broccoli with chicken stock may add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
i made this last night - very tasty! the red pepper flakes really gave it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIACOZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Love this recipe . Tastes just like local places here in NJ , I add a bit more pepper cause we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This is delicious. I ended up stir frying the broccoli because I wasn't paying attention and prepared it how I thought the directions would say. Reading is fundamental!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States