Cavatappi with Spinach, Garbanzo Beans, and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
AWESOME! This recipe is very forgiving. I didn't have spinach so I added some of Trader Joe's Southern Greens Blend instead. Didn't measure, just eyed it. Also added beans with pasta for the last 5 min to soften them up a bit, mas suggested. Added Scarlet Runner beans because I had them from the garden. Added greens after drained pasta so it wilted. Yummy, Yum, Yum. Oh, i did the dressing in the food proc. Used rigatoni, had no cavatappi. Kids loved it too! Lemon is such a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe and my husband complimented it as well! I followed the directions except using a different shaped pasta and substituted arugula for spinach. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was really good. It felt kind of healthy since it wasn't loaded down with a heavy sauce or lots of cheese. I cut the recipe down quite a bit for just my husband and I, and there was still tons left over. I used the juice of one whole lemon, 3 cloves of garlic, and added some chopped tomato and marinated artichoke hearts to give the dish some added "oomph". My husband drizzled some good balsamic vinegar on it too and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this scaled to 8 servings. It is wonderful, fresh and delicious! Even though scaled to 8 servings, it is a heft amount, something to think about when you decide to make this recipe and there is only 4 to serve! I didn't add or delete anything, but I was thinking it might be nice to add a little parmesan to the finished product? My husband didn't think so, he thought it was perfect just the way it was made. The lemon adds just the right amount of zing, don't forget that! I almost did, and when added, defintely brightened up the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Really good recipe. Nice, simple flavors; an excellent light dinner. For a more filling entree, I would add a grilled chicken breast. Also, next time I might substitute great northern or cannellini beans for the garbanzo just for the smoother texture. Also, I agree with others that you should add the garbanzo beans to the boiling pasta because I think their texture should be softer. Overall, a very delicious and healthy pasta dish. To make it even healthier, I omitted the olive oil and used a little broth (maybe if I used the oil I would have given it 5 stars!). I added some hot sauce just to give it some heat, but I liked the recipe as is, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was so simple and delicious! I forgot to buy lemon, so I used some white wine vinegar and it was fine. Even the kids liked it. I wouldn't have minded an addition of grape tomatoes or cherry tomatoes sliced in half. Would have made it pretty and would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This recipe has become an absolute staple in my expanding "repertoire". It's simple, kinda sorta healthy and tastes great. The only problem is, I alwasy make too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was sooooo good! I brought the leftovers to work for lunch for a few days and I really looked forward to eating it! I will definitely make this again. I used low-fat feta and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Garlic lovers will love this salad. I cool the pasta with cold water before mixing with the spinach to avoid wilting the spinach. One can of beans is sufficient, but two are great too if you like beans. I double the dressing since the pasta and feta absorb a lot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
It's a huge HIT! I made this recipe for two different parties and never brought home leftovers. So far I have passed the recipe on to about 7-8 people who have called asking for it. I'd suggest using fresh lemon; the stuff in the lemon-shaped container just can't quite cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States