Cauliflower With a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
One of our favorite restaurants in Naples,FL, serves a side dish called "Cauliflower Arugula Smash" and I always look forward to it. What confused me about it, however, is that it was nice and thick, unlike when I tried to make mashed cauliflower at home (what low-carbers love to do to substitute for mashed potates). So I asked the server about it, telling him there just had to be something in there besides cauliflower! Sure enough, he reluctantly admitted that there was also parsnips in there! So I was happy to find and try this recipe and review it in an effort to entice others to try it, since I am its first reviewer. It is just simply delicious! I covered the cauliflower and parsnips in water in a saucepan, added some fresh, minced garlic, brought it to a boil, them simmered it until it was very tender. I drained it very well, then put the pan back on the burner briefly just to dry it out. I didn't add the milk, as it would have have ruined this by taking away it's substance--it needs to be good and dry, and only butter added (although a little bit of cream cheese would be good too!) Finally, capitalizing on the restaurant's dish I love so much, I wilted some fresh arugula in a little olive oil and mixed it in at the last. Perfect! And for some reason even better than the restaurant's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
What a pleasant surprise this dish was. A very tasty way to replace a starchy high carb side dish with this. I used smart balance butter and 1% milk with great results. We loved this and I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I loved this dish!! I followed another review and added garlic to the pot of water when cooking the veggies. Did add about 2 tablespoons of sour cream to the mixture and made sur to beat well with the electric mixture - what a treat!! I teach cooking classes at a local grocery store and I plan to use this recipe in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We LOVED this dish! What a surprise --- and much nicer on the waist-line than potatoes! We love mashed garlic potatoes, so I followed another reviewer's tip, and added garlic powder while I was mixing with a electric hand-mixer. I think it would be great with or without the garlic, but since I don't do milk, I skipped it, but added twice as much butter & mixed 'til creamy. Will definitely make this again --- Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I thought this was ok. Will make again, maybe with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
We absolutely love this for a side dish and make it often. Absolutely as tasty as mashed potatoes and so much healthier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Great flavor but the consistency in mine didn't come out as planned. It turned out a bit soupy, but I want to try this one again b/c perhaps I steamed the vegetables too long? Loved incorporating the parsnip. I also added a few garlic cloves to the steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I thought they were pretty good. The main bit of feedback I got is that people were expecting more of a "Kick". I'll definitely try to bring the seasoning up a notch for the next time I make them. Integrating parsnips was a fun thing though ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful_Mamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was pretty good, definitely needs more parsnip as once it was mashed I couldn't even taste it! Nice way to lower carbs and substitute as mashed potatoes. I wouldn't make it all the time, but with more parsnip added, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
We all thought this was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States