Cauliflower With a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
One of our favorite restaurants in Naples,FL, serves a side dish called "Cauliflower Arugula Smash" and I always look forward to it. What confused me about it, however, is that it was nice and thick, unlike when I tried to make mashed cauliflower at home (what low-carbers love to do to substitute for mashed potates). So I asked the server about it, telling him there just had to be something in there besides cauliflower! Sure enough, he reluctantly admitted that there was also parsnips in there! So I was happy to find and try this recipe and review it in an effort to entice others to try it, since I am its first reviewer. It is just simply delicious! I covered the cauliflower and parsnips in water in a saucepan, added some fresh, minced garlic, brought it to a boil, them simmered it until it was very tender. I drained it very well, then put the pan back on the burner briefly just to dry it out. I didn't add the milk, as it would have have ruined this by taking away it's substance--it needs to be good and dry, and only butter added (although a little bit of cream cheese would be good too!) Finally, capitalizing on the restaurant's dish I love so much, I wilted some fresh arugula in a little olive oil and mixed it in at the last. Perfect! And for some reason even better than the restaurant's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
We absolutely love this for a side dish and make it often. Absolutely as tasty as mashed potatoes and so much healthier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I loved this dish!! I followed another review and added garlic to the pot of water when cooking the veggies. Did add about 2 tablespoons of sour cream to the mixture and made sur to beat well with the electric mixture - what a treat!! I teach cooking classes at a local grocery store and I plan to use this recipe in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We LOVED this dish! What a surprise --- and much nicer on the waist-line than potatoes! We love mashed garlic potatoes, so I followed another reviewer's tip, and added garlic powder while I was mixing with a electric hand-mixer. I think it would be great with or without the garlic, but since I don't do milk, I skipped it, but added twice as much butter & mixed 'til creamy. Will definitely make this again --- Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love my food processor! This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very delicious - almost too good to be true! We added 4 baby yellow squash and 2 parsnips in addition to the head of califlower which added great flavor. We also substituted plain, fat free Greek yogurt instead of milk and butter. Just add some salt, pepper, and parsley flakes for a delicious side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Yum! I've never used parsnips in my cooking before but now I'm hooked! It gave such a nice complementary flavor and texture to the cauliflower. Tips for this recipe: 1) drain the cauliflower WELL as it will retain tons of water. At first I didn't feel the need to add milk because there was so much water. 2) use an electric beater or blender to mix. no way you will get as creamy of a texture by hand mashing. The nice smooth texture adds so much to the taste and look! With a blender I found I had to work in small quantities to begin with or else the blade kept getting stuck. Loved it, would definitely make again! My roommate who doesn't like mashed potatoes liked these which looked similar/were similar in consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I love parsnips, but never thought to add it to mashed cauliflower. I'm asked to bring this dish to all family get togethers. The recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was great I just used butter and garlic as suggested no milk and added some fresh parmesan a great healthy subsitute for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is one of my favorite low-carb recipes to use in place of mashed potatoes. Instead of milk, I use half-n-half or heavy cream. My family really likes this, especially my husband who claims to HATE cauliflower. NOTE: If you add this recipe to a small saucepan and add in a cup or so of organic chicken broth, you have a quick faux-potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States