Cauliflower With a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I think i should of added at least 3 potatoes, i didn't like it and also think potatoes will add a creamier texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I love parsnips, but never thought to add it to mashed cauliflower. I'm asked to bring this dish to all family get togethers. The recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Yum! I've never used parsnips in my cooking before but now I'm hooked! It gave such a nice complementary flavor and texture to the cauliflower. Tips for this recipe: 1) drain the cauliflower WELL as it will retain tons of water. At first I didn't feel the need to add milk because there was so much water. 2) use an electric beater or blender to mix. no way you will get as creamy of a texture by hand mashing. The nice smooth texture adds so much to the taste and look! With a blender I found I had to work in small quantities to begin with or else the blade kept getting stuck. Loved it, would definitely make again! My roommate who doesn't like mashed potatoes liked these which looked similar/were similar in consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I may not have steamed the vegetables long enough. I usually like them tender crisp, but they really seem to need to be more cooked to get them to whip properly. I omitted the liquid because that would have made them even less like the texture shown in the photo, but I added a good size knob of butter and then 2 tbs of 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Next time I will probably add another parsnip. I served with a nice twist of coarsely ground black pepper and we all enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Enjoyed it. I used a generous amount of dried red pepper and garlic salt rather than salt and pepper. This will become a regular entry on my weekly menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We did not enjoy this at all. I've never had parsnip before but the taste of it adds a strage perfumey type taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very delicious - almost too good to be true! We added 4 baby yellow squash and 2 parsnips in addition to the head of califlower which added great flavor. We also substituted plain, fat free Greek yogurt instead of milk and butter. Just add some salt, pepper, and parsley flakes for a delicious side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This recipe is great!!! I love parsnips & cauliflower. I made them for my boyfriend who dislikes parsnips & he didn't even know what was in it & thought it was great. ONLY thing I added to this recipe was garlic! made once with crushed garlic & a second time with roasted garlic! Both were great!! Definitely worth a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Great, easy, healthy and tasty recipe! I left the milk out and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
We prefer the cauilflower by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States