Cauliflower With a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
The parsnips have a strong flavor, but I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Took this to Thanksgiving and my Grandma loved it. Everyone else ate it. I learned that I don't like parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Made just as written...even the cauliflower haters ate it! Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I must admit, it was the velvety looking photo that drew me to this recipe. I was envisioning a silky puree. Not so much.... There's also not much of a "kick". This just tastes like cauliflower w/a mild carrot (parsnip) flavor. Perfectly passable, but nothing like the photo/what I was imagining. Thanks for the recipe, JEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The taste is good, but the texture isn't right- mine came out gritty, though I'm not sure why. Perhaps it's from the milk, but i think I'll replace it with a smidge of cream cheese instead next time if I have it otherwise leave it out. I care more about flavour, and so the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is one of my favorite low-carb recipes to use in place of mashed potatoes. Instead of milk, I use half-n-half or heavy cream. My family really likes this, especially my husband who claims to HATE cauliflower. NOTE: If you add this recipe to a small saucepan and add in a cup or so of organic chicken broth, you have a quick faux-potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I added 4 cloves of garlic on top of the cauliflower and parsnip while it was steaming and I added 2 healthy tablespoons of fat free sour cream and only used 1 TBSP of butter. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I don't know what happened, but I didn't like this at all. Sorry. The texture was gritty. I don't think I should have added any milk...maybe cream cheese or something would have been better, but then it would take away from the healthiness of this dish. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Not for us; will not make again. I tried a different recipe without parsnip several years ago and haven't made that since either. Gave 1 star but not sure that this is fair given that I think we just aren't into this way to prepare cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was great I just used butter and garlic as suggested no milk and added some fresh parmesan a great healthy subsitute for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States