Cauliflower Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MeeshaB
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This recipe is quick and easy and is a great replacement for potatoes. I slightly undercooked the cauliflower and used seasoned panko instead of bread crumbs and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
When i added the butter then bread crumbs the bread crumbs just soaked everything up and it came out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was an okay dish as written. It was sort of dry and not a lot of flavor. I might try again with more butter, less bread crumbs, and maybe garlic or something. It was edible but not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Great treatment of a wee bit less popular vegetable! This recipe enhanced rather than covered up the cauliflower. Like some other cooks, I micro-steamed the florets (not quarters) for about 5 minutes so they were tender crisp but not totally cooked. I used Panko instead of regular bread crumbs for a wee bit more texture. I did find that adding at least 1 1/2 Tbsp. of butter was necessary to adequately moisten the crumb mixture, although I think 3 Tbsp of butter might indeed be overdoing it. I microplaned fresh parmesan cheese I had leftover instead of the canned stuff. I also added some garlic salt. My 2 sons, aged 23 and 19 thought it made a passing grade---for them, that's doing good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Overall I thought this dish was okay.It was very easy to make and tasted okay though I wish it had more flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this yesterday and it was good! I like to spice things a bit and added 1 tsp of Indian Masala spice....really tasty! I'm looking forward to today's left overs! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
What a nice way to serve a vegetable that on its own doesn't have IMO a lot of flavor. I steamed the cauliflower florets in the microwave for 3 minutes, and they were then ready to go into the skillet. Only deviation from the recipe was adding 1 clove of crushed garlic to the bread crumb mixture. Definitely will be preparing fresh cauliflower like this in the future...tasty and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I only made a few changes, I cut up the head into florets and steamed in the microwave until al dente, so that they could continue to cook in the pan and not turn out mushy. The end result was super yummy, I had 3 helpings! One thing that I would like to note, is that there was no bubbling mixture after I added in the bread crumbs, they completely absorbed the butter. And then they stuck to the cauliflower fairly well. There was quite a bit of extra bread crumbs in the bottom of the pan that I just couldn't get to stick. That was fine with me, they still got eaten. And I would like to point out to the people that complained that this was mushy, it is not the recipes fault that you over-boiled your cauliflower and then added more butter than the recipe called for. I imagine that would turn out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
this was so easy and had great flavor! will def make again. follow recipe exactly turns out fabu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
really good i added garlic . ill make it again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States